Yes.
Arkansas licenses HVAC work statewide: every individual who designs, installs, constructs, maintains, services, repairs, alters or modifies an HVACR system must hold a class licence from the HVACR Licensing Board, or hold the $25-a-year registrant card and work only for a licensee.
Class A, B, D and E licences take documented experience or board-approved training plus a $100 exam proctored by Prov, and renew every year with at least 8 hours of continuing education per International Mechanical Code cycle.
The board reports no reciprocity with other states.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
Yes.
Anyone who designs, installs, constructs, maintains, services, repairs, alters or modifies an HVACR system needs an HVACR class licence or a registrant card.
The Arkansas HVACR Licensing Board, within the Arkansas Department of Labor and Licensing.
The registrant card, plus class licences A (unlimited), B (capped air conditioning), D (ductwork), E (refrigeration) and L (lifetime, service only) under 17 CAR Part 261.
Exam eligibility: a registrant card held 2 years, or 1 year plus 1 year of technical experience.
Class applicants with no licensing background: 2 years with an HVACR contractor, or board-approved training.
Class exams proctored by Prov with Board pre-approval; $100 for each Class A, B, D or E exam.
Every year β licences expire on the last day of the month one year after issuance β and at least 8 hours of board-approved continuing education per International Mechanical Code cycle.
None.
The board states it has no reciprocal agreements with any other state; out-of-state licensees from substantially similar states may be approved, with examination.
Not established in our research β the board pages we read give no public HVACR search, so confirm a licence with the board.
The registration every HVACR worker who is not a class holder must hold: $25 per year, age 18 or older, and a registrant can only perform work for an HVACR licensee.
The sheet metal class: it limits the licensee to ductwork.
The refrigeration class: it limits the licensee to refrigeration work.
The capped air-conditioning class β up to 25 tons of cooling and 1,000,000 BTUH of heating per unit under the current rule text, though the board's 2024 statute compilation still shows an earlier 15-ton limit, so confirm the current cap with the board.
The unlimited class licence under 17 CAR Part 261: no equipment-size cap, and the rung that lets a licensee take responsibility for HVACR work of any size.
The lifetime, service-only licence for class holders at least 65 with long good standing as a class holder; a Class L holder may not employ registrants.
Yes.
Arkansas requires every individual who designs, installs, constructs, maintains, services, repairs, alters or modifies any HVACR system to hold an HVACR licence or registration issued by the HVACR Licensing Board.
Workers who do not hold a class licence must instead hold a current HVACR registration β a registrant card β and can only perform work for an HVACR licensee.
The board sits within the Arkansas Department of Labor and Licensing.
On top of the state credential, federal rule 40 CFR 82.161 requires anyone who could reasonably be expected to violate the integrity of the refrigerant circuit while maintaining, servicing, repairing or disposing of appliances containing CFC/HCFC or non-exempt substitute refrigerants to pass an exam from an EPA-approved technician certification program; that certification is federal, not an Arkansas licence.
βevery individual who designs, installs, constructs, maintains, services, repairs, alters, or modifies any HVACR system or any portion of an HVACR system in the State of Arkansas shall obtain one (1) of the following classes of licensesβ
Under 17 CAR Part 261, the classes are Class A (unlimited), Class B (up to 25 tons of cooling and 1,000,000 BTUH of heating per unit, with refrigeration work capped at 15 horsepower), Class D (sheet metal ductwork only), Class E (refrigeration only) and Class L (lifetime, service only).
A class licence is what lets you take responsibility for HVACR work: the Class A, B, D or E holder is the designated license holder responsible for the HVACR work a business performs, and a business must first hold an HVACR organization registration.
Registrants who hold no class licence can only work for an HVACR licensee.
Class L is a special case: it is service-only, and a Class L holder may not employ registrants.
One caution β the board's 2024 compilation of the statute still describes a 15-ton Class B and a Class C service-and-repair licence that the current rule text does not list, so confirm today's class limits with the board before you apply.
The registrant card costs $25 per year, and registrants and class-licence applicants must be at least 18.
To become eligible for the class exam, the board's page says you must have held an Arkansas registrant card for 2 years, or held it for 1 year and have 1 year of technical experience.
Separately, applicants for a class licence with no licensing background must show at least 2 years' experience as an HVACR contractor or as an employee of one, and board-approved training may substitute.
Each Class A, B, D or E exam costs $100.
Licence fees run $200 per year for Class A and $150 per year for Class B, D or E, with no charge for Class L.
New class holders must also carry general liability insurance β the board page does not state a minimum amount.
βApplicants for licensure with no licensing background shall present satisfactory evidence of having at least two (2) yearsβ experience as an HVACR contractor or an employee of an HVACR contractor.β
The board's HVAC/R contractor examinations β the exams for its class licences β are proctored by Prov, which the board describes as a nationally recognized licensing and examination services provider, and candidates must be pre-approved by the Board before they sit.
Eligibility follows the experience rules above: a registrant card held for 2 years, or 1 year plus 1 year of technical experience.
Each Class A, B, D or E exam costs $100.
Our research does not describe the content outline of the Arkansas HVACR exam, so ask the board or Prov for current candidate materials before you schedule.
HVACR licences expire on the last day of the month one year after issuance, so renewal is annual.
A licence is not renewed unless the licensee completes at least 8 hours of board-approved continuing education per current International Mechanical Code cycle.
The registrant card also renews yearly, at $25.
The rule text we read ties the CE requirement to licensees, so if you hold only the registration, ask the board whether anything applies to you before you renew.
βNo HVACR license shall be renewed unless the licensee completes at least eight (8) hours of continuing education per current International Mechanical Code cycleβ
Not automatically, and there is no reciprocity agreement to lean on.
The State HVAC/R Board states it has no reciprocal licensing agreements with any other state licensing boards for HVAC/R licensing at this time.
What the board does offer: out-of-state licensees from states it considers substantially similar may be approved, with examination.
If you hold an HVACR licence from another state, plan to take the Arkansas exam and confirm the board's current out-of-state policy directly before you count on it.
βThe Arkansas Department of Labor and Licensing's State HVAC/R Board has no reciprocal licensing agreements with any other state licensing Boards for HVAC/R licensing at this time.β
Our research did not find a public HVACR licence lookup on the board's pages, so the board itself is the place to confirm a licence.
Two practical checks do exist.
Arkansas HVACR licensees must display their licence number on all business vehicles and in all forms of advertising, so you can ask for that number and verify it with the board.
And the Arkansas Contractors Licensing Board publishes a Find A Licensed Contractor search β but that covers ACLB contractor licences, a separate credential from the HVACR class licence.
Possibly β this is the one place to be careful with older Arkansas information.
The board's 17 CAR Part 261 rule text lists Classes A, B, D, E and L with a Class B cap of 25 tons of cooling per unit, while the department's 2024 compilation of the HVACR statute still describes a Class B limited to 15 tons and a Class C service-and-repair licence.
Our research could not confirm whether the newer rule text is final and in effect, so treat any Arkansas class list β including ours β as something to verify with the board before you rely on it.
This page summarizes the Arkansas board pages, statutes, rules and other sources listed below, as read for this state-by-state HVAC licensing series, current as of September 2026.
It is not a substitute for the instructions the Arkansas HVACR Licensing Board (Arkansas Department of Labor and Licensing) publishes.
For the rest of the picture in Arkansas, see plumbing licensing in Arkansas, HVAC apprenticeships in Arkansas, HVAC contractor licensing in Arkansas, and hvac technician pay in Arkansas.
Yes.
Every individual who designs, installs, constructs, maintains, services, repairs, alters or modifies an HVACR system in Arkansas must hold an HVACR class licence from the HVACR Licensing Board.
If you do not hold a class licence, you must hold a current HVACR registration (a registrant card) and can only perform work for an HVACR licensee.
The registrant card costs $25 per year and requires you to be at least 18.
The registrant card is $25 per year.
Each Class A, B, D or E exam costs $100.
Annual licence fees are $200 for Class A and $150 for Class B, D or E, with no charge for Class L.
New class holders must also carry general liability insurance; the board's page does not state a minimum amount, so ask the board what coverage it expects.
The registrant card is the entry point, and the class exam is the gate.
You become eligible for the exam after holding an Arkansas registrant card for 2 years, or after 1 year plus 1 year of technical experience.
Class applicants with no licensing background must also show 2 years' experience as, or working for, an HVACR contractor β board-approved training may substitute for that experience.
Not in the rule text we read.
17 CAR Part 261 lists Class A, B, D, E and L, and workers who hold none of them carry the registrant card β there is no journeyman-level HVACR licence in that list.
If a job posting asks for a journeyman HVAC license in Arkansas, ask the employer which credential it means before you apply.
The State HVAC/R Board says it has no reciprocal licensing agreements with any other state licensing boards for HVAC/R licensing at this time.
Out-of-state licensees from states the board considers substantially similar may be approved, but with examination β so plan to sit the Arkansas exam and confirm the current policy with the board before you move.
Sources
Sourced from the documents listed above.
Verified September 2026.
This is career information, not legal advice.
Confirm current rules with the Arkansas HVACR Licensing Board (Arkansas Department of Labor and Licensing).