No: Indiana does not license HVAC technicians or contractors statewide.
The Indiana Professional Licensing Agency's list of licensed professions includes Plumbing but no HVAC, heating, mechanical or refrigeration board, and Indianapolis's own board document says HVAC licensing is at the discretion of the local municipality.
What exists is local: Indianapolis's Board of Heating and Cooling Examiners issues five heating and cooling contractor license types, from unrestricted Air Conditioning A to High Pressure Steam.
The federal EPA 608 certification applies in Indiana for work that could breach a refrigerant circuit.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
No. The Indiana Professional Licensing Agency's list of licensed professions includes Plumbing but no HVAC, heating, mechanical or refrigeration board.
Local, not state: Indianapolis states that HVAC licensing in Indiana is at the discretion of the local municipality, and its Board of Heating and Cooling Examiners issues heating and cooling contractor licenses.
No state levels.
Indianapolis issues five heating and cooling contractor license types: Air Conditioning A (unrestricted), B (25 tons cooling / 500,000 BTU heating), D (5 tons / 300,000 BTU), Refrigeration and High Pressure Steam.
Indianapolis reciprocal applicants document at least five years of HVACR trade experience (or a mix of industry education and work) on employer letterhead; the exam route's experience rule is not stated in the document our research read.
No state exam.
Indianapolis's heating and cooling exam pass mark is 70%, and after a second failure an applicant waits one year to retest; reciprocal licenses must rest on a Prometric or Prov exam verified as equivalent.
Not established in our research — the Indianapolis board-policies document we read states no renewal cycle or CE hours.
Ask the city's licensing section.
Indianapolis grants reciprocal heating and cooling licenses only for a current license from another municipality or agency earned on a Prometric or Prov exam verified as equivalent (minimum 70%).
No statewide HVAC search in our research — Indiana has no state HVAC license.
Heating and cooling licenses are issued city by city (in Indianapolis, by the Board of Heating and Cooling Examiners), so check with the issuing city.
The unrestricted type on Indianapolis's heating and cooling contractor license list — no capacity cap is stated for it — and it requires a Universal EPA Section 608 certification.
Capped at 25 tons of cooling and 500,000 BTU of heating, with boiler pressures not exceeding 15 psig steam and 30 psig water; it requires EPA 608 Type I and II certification.
Capped at 5 tons of cooling and 300,000 BTU of heating; it also requires EPA 608 Type I and II certification.
The board's refrigeration license type; our research records no capacity figure for it, and it requires a Universal EPA Section 608 certification.
The steam type on the board's list, and the one type the document pairs with no EPA Section 608 certification requirement.
No. Indiana issues no statewide HVAC technician or contractor license: the Indiana Professional Licensing Agency's list of licensed professions includes Plumbing but no HVAC, heating, mechanical or refrigeration board.
So there is no state application, exam or renewal to plan around: the rules that apply to you come from the municipality where the work is done, and Indianapolis's board document states that licensing is at the discretion of the local municipality.
One federal layer applies everywhere in Indiana: under 40 CFR 82.161, any person who could reasonably be expected to violate the integrity of the refrigerant circuit while maintaining, servicing, repairing or disposing of appliances containing CFC/HCFC or non-exempt substitute refrigerants must pass an exam from an EPA-approved technician certification program.
“Licensing is at the discretion of the local municipality in the state of Indiana.”
There are no state levels to climb: Indiana issues no journeyman, master or contractor HVAC credential.
The credentials that exist are municipal, and the best-documented example is Indianapolis, whose Board of Heating and Cooling Examiners — part of the Department of Business & Neighborhood Services — issues heating and cooling contractor licenses in five types: Air Conditioning A (unrestricted), B (25 tons cooling / 500,000 BTU heating), D (5 tons cooling / 300,000 BTU heating), Refrigeration and High Pressure Steam.
Indianapolis also matches EPA Section 608 certification to the license type: Universal for Air Conditioning A and Refrigeration, Type I and II for B and D, and none for High Pressure Steam.
A license is not the only way to do the work there: in Indianapolis, an unlicensed worker employed by a licensed heating and cooling contractor may do heating and cooling work under that contractor's direction and control, limited to the scope of the contractor's license type, but may not contract on their own.
“A person not licensed under this article who is employed by a licensed heating and cooling contractor may, however, accomplish heating and cooling work while working under the direction and control of a person who is a licensed heating and cooling contractor”
Licensing is local, so hours, training and fees are set by each municipality rather than by the state — with no state license, there are no state hour, fee or exam figures to apply.
For Indianapolis, the 2025 board-policies document our research read works like this: an applicant files a packet at least 10 business days before the Board of Heating and Cooling Examiners meets — the second Monday of each month — and appears before the board.
After board approval, the contractor files proof of a surety bond, general liability insurance and workers' compensation coverage with fees before it is licensed.
Reciprocal applicants must document at least five years of HVACR trade experience, or a mix of industry education and work, verified on employer letterhead.
The document does not state the bond and insurance dollar amounts or the license fees, and it does not quote the exam route's experience rule, so ask the licensing section before you count on a number.
“Verification of employment documenting at least five (5) years of experience for a person in the HVACR trade by current and former employers.”
No state board gives one, because there is no state HVAC license or exam.
The Indianapolis heating and cooling license exam has a passing grade of 70%, and after a second failure an applicant must wait one year to retest.
For the reciprocal route, Indianapolis accepts only a current license from another municipality or agency that was earned on a standardized exam produced by Prometric or Prov, verified as equivalent to the city's own exam, with a minimum score of 70%.
The board-policies document our research read does not say who administers the exam, and it publishes no content outline — confirm the testing arrangement and the study scope with the board when you file.
“Passing grade for examination is 70%.”
Our research did not establish a renewal cycle or a continuing-education requirement for heating and cooling licenses in Indiana: there is no state license whose renewal rule could apply, and the Indianapolis board-policies document we read does not state renewal terms or CE hours.
Ask the city's licensing section what your license needs to stay active before you schedule work around a renewal date.
The credential that does not renew is the federal one: EPA Section 608 technician certification does not expire.
There is no state HVAC license for another state's license to transfer into, so the only reciprocity rule on record is a city's.
Indianapolis grants reciprocal heating and cooling licenses only for a current license from another municipality or agency that was earned on a Prometric or Prov exam verified as equivalent to the city's own exam, with a minimum score of 70%.
If you hold a license from another state, ask the city's licensing section — or the equivalent office where you will work — whether it fits that rule, before you assume the license carries over.
“the license was issued upon passing a standardized exam produced by Prometric, Inc. (formerly Thomson Prometric, Experior Assessment LLC, and Block and Associates) or Prov, Inc.”
There is no statewide Indiana HVAC license search in our research, because there is no statewide license to search.
The cross-state lookup research this page draws on lists an IPLA “Verify a license” link for Indiana that it could not open and marks unconfirmed, and it found no HVAC-specific lookup to confirm.
What the verified professions list does show is that the Indiana Professional Licensing Agency licenses plumbing and no HVAC profession.
Heating and cooling licenses are issued city by city — in Indianapolis, the Board of Heating and Cooling Examiners, part of the Department of Business & Neighborhood Services, issues the five license types — so verify a license with the city that issued it.
Indianapolis's board document says it plainly: HVAC licensing in Indiana is at the discretion of the local municipality.
The municipality our research documents is Indianapolis, whose Board of Heating and Cooling Examiners — part of the Department of Business & Neighborhood Services — issues the five heating and cooling license types, sets a 70% exam pass mark, meets the second Monday of each month and approves applicants before bond and insurance are filed.
Fort Wayne, Evansville and Indiana's other cities were not part of our research, so check with each city rather than assuming Indianapolis's rules apply everywhere.
Before you take HVAC work anywhere in Indiana, ask that municipality's building or licensing department what it requires.
This page summarizes the Indiana board pages, statutes, rules and other sources listed below, as read for this state-by-state HVAC licensing series, current as of September 2026.
It is not a substitute for the instructions the city or county building department publishes.
For the rest of the picture in Indiana, see plumbing licensing in Indiana, HVAC apprenticeships in Indiana, HVAC contractor licensing in Indiana, and hvac technician pay in Indiana.
From the 14 active HVAC technician listings on HVACHires as of October 7, 2026.
Source: active HVAC technician listings on HVACHires, updated daily. Pay figures use only listings that state pay (midpoint of each posted range), hourly and yearly counted separately. Benefits count listings that name the benefit; a listing that doesn’t mention one may still offer it.
Browse 14 jobs →Not from the state: Indiana issues no statewide HVAC technician or contractor license, so the permission you need comes from the city or town where the work happens.
In Indianapolis, an unlicensed worker employed by a licensed heating and cooling contractor may do that work under the contractor's direction and control, within the contractor's license type, but cannot contract on their own.
Work that could breach a refrigerant circuit also triggers the federal EPA 608 certification requirement (40 CFR 82.161).
No. The Indiana Professional Licensing Agency licenses professions such as plumbing, but its list includes no HVAC, heating, mechanical or refrigeration license of any level, journeyman or otherwise.
The credentials our research documents are municipal: Indianapolis's Board of Heating and Cooling Examiners issues heating and cooling contractor licenses in five types — Air Conditioning A, B, D, Refrigeration and High Pressure Steam.
If a posting asks for an Indiana journeyman HVAC license, ask which city license it means.
Federal law applies regardless of licensing: under 40 CFR 82.161, any person who could reasonably be expected to violate the integrity of the refrigerant circuit while maintaining, servicing, repairing or disposing of appliances containing CFC/HCFC or non-exempt substitute refrigerants must pass an exam from an EPA-approved technician certification program.
Indianapolis matches the certification to its license types: Universal for Air Conditioning A and Refrigeration, Type I and II for B and D, none for High Pressure Steam.
EPA 608 certification does not expire.
There is no state fee, because there is no state HVAC license.
For Indianapolis, the board-policies document our research read requires board approval plus proof of a surety bond, general liability insurance and workers' compensation filed with fees, but it does not state the dollar amounts, and we did not confirm the city's license fees.
Ask Indianapolis's licensing section, or the equivalent office in the city where you will work, for current costs.
The 2025 board-policies document our research read states an experience rule for the reciprocal route: applicants must document at least five years of HVACR trade experience, or a mix of industry education and work, verified by current and former employers on letterhead.
The document does not quote the experience rule for the exam route, so ask the Board of Heating and Cooling Examiners what it expects from exam-route applicants before you file.
Sources
Sourced from the documents listed above.
Verified September 2026.
This is career information, not legal advice.
Confirm current rules with the city or county building department.