Yes: Oklahoma licenses HVAC work statewide, as mechanical licenses from the Construction Industries Board (CIB) under the Mechanical Licensing Act.
There is no single Oklahoma HVAC license.
You register as an apprentice, then test for a journeyman license in a category such as HVAC limited (cooling up to 25 tons) or HVAC unlimited, and a contractor license adds one more year plus trade and business-and-law exams.
Journeymen need three years of registered CIB apprentice experience (unless lawfully exempt), or a CIB-approved school program plus reduced experience; renewal takes six hours of continuing education every 36 months.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
Yes.
Oklahoma licenses HVAC work statewide as mechanical licenses — apprentice registration, then journeyman, contractor and inactive contractor licenses — from the Construction Industries Board (CIB).
The Oklahoma Construction Industries Board (CIB), which administers the Mechanical Licensing Act.
No single HVAC license: registered apprenticeship, then journeyman licenses by category (HVAC limited, HVAC unlimited, refrigeration, sheet metal, limited residential and more), then contractor or inactive contractor.
Journeyman: age 18 and three years of verifiable experience in the category (one year = 2,000 hours), earned while registered as a CIB apprentice unless lawfully exempt — or a CIB-approved school program plus reduced experience.
Contractor: one more year.
PSI delivers the exams; the journeyman test is open book and covers the statewide codes adopted by the Oklahoma Uniform Building Code Commission (OUBCC).
Licenses last up to one year and expire on the last day of your birth month; journeymen and contractors need six hours of CIB-approved continuing education every 36 months.
Only where a written agreement exists between Oklahoma and the applicant's state; our research did not confirm which states have mechanical agreements.
The CIB's 'Are They Licensed' search at cibverify.ok.gov (address taken from the CIB site's navigation).
The CIB registration an HVAC apprentice renews every year, signed by a licensed contractor or approved school instructor; apprentice hours only count toward licensing while the registration is current.
A journeyman mechanical license scoped to cooling up to 25 tons and heating equipment up to 500,000 Btu/h per appliance, earned with three years of category experience (or a CIB-approved school program plus reduced experience) and a PSI exam.
The same journeyman requirements, in the unlimited category: no cooling or heating size cap on the work the license covers.
The license for contracting mechanical work: the journeyman requirements plus one more year of experience and both a trade and a business/law exam, issued active (bonded and insured) or inactive.
Yes.
Oklahoma licenses HVAC workers statewide through the Construction Industries Board (CIB) under the Mechanical Licensing Act: apprentices register, and mechanical licenses are issued as journeyman, contractor or inactive contractor.
No dollar threshold exempts small jobs — no person or firm may engage in mechanical contracting or perform mechanical work without the appropriate license or registration.
One activity the CIB names as needing no state license is air duct cleaning, which it says does not require a state license in Oklahoma.
The federal layer applies on top: the EPA requires anyone who could reasonably be expected to violate the integrity of a refrigerant circuit while maintaining, servicing, repairing or disposing of appliances containing CFC/HCFC or non-exempt substitute refrigerants to pass an exam from an EPA-approved technician certification program.
“No person, entity, or firm may engage in mechanical contracting or perform mechanical work without first obtaining the appropriate license or registration pursuant to this Chapter.”
Oklahoma issues mechanical licenses as journeyman, contractor or inactive contractor — there is no single 'HVAC license' — and journeyman licenses are issued in a category.
The categories are HVAC limited or unlimited, natural gas piping, process piping, refrigeration, sheet metal, ground source piping, fueled hearth product work, limited residential, limited residential installer and petroleum refinery process piping; limited residential, petroleum refinery process piping and medical gas are journeyman-only.
An HVAC limited license covers cooling up to 25 tons and heating equipment up to 500,000 Btu/h per appliance; the unlimited license has no size cap.
The limited residential journeyman license covers new systems in one- and two-family dwellings and townhouses up to 5-ton cooling and 150,000 Btu/h heating, but excludes fuel gas piping, brazing and final refrigerant or electrical connections.
Medical gas is a mechanical category, not a plumbing one, and requires certification under the current NFPA 99 standard or an approved medical gas certification — and a mechanical license is not a plumbing license; Oklahoma licenses plumbing separately.
An inactive contractor license needs no bond or insurance and works as a journeyman; activating one takes a $5,000 corporate surety bond and at least $50,000 in general liability.
Journeyman applicants must be 18 and show three years of verifiable experience in the category — one year equals 2,000 hours — or a CIB-approved school program plus reduced experience, with a 1,000-plus-hour program plus one year as the rules' example.
Only experience earned while registered as a CIB apprentice counts toward licensing — in Oklahoma or outside it — unless you were lawfully exempt; apprentices renew the registration every year, signed by a licensed contractor or approved school instructor, and at most three apprentices may be under the direct supervision of one licensed mechanical contractor or journeyman.
The fee schedule we read: apprentice application $5 and registration $20; journeyman application $25, initial license $50, renewal $75 and a $25 late fee.
The contractor rung adds one more year of experience — four years total on the standard path — plus both a trade and a business/law exam, and an applicant who passes only one portion retakes only the failed portion if it happens within three years of approval.
These amounts come from CIB's mechanical rules as posted when we read them; the Board has proposed amendments, so confirm current fees and hours with the CIB before you apply.
“three (3) years of verifiable experience in the mechanical trade in the category for which he or she is applying”
PSI delivers Oklahoma's mechanical licensing exams; the journeyman test is open book, and the exams test the statewide codes adopted by the Oklahoma Uniform Building Code Commission (OUBCC).
Registered mechanical apprentices as young as 17 who complete an approved formal education program may apply to sit for the HVAC limited journeyman exam.
Fail, and the wait is 30 days after the first failure and 90 days after later failures.
Our research does not state the exam fee — it is paid to the testing vendor — or a content outline; the CIB points to a PSI candidate information bulletin for the Mechanical License Act, which is the place to check.
Oklahoma mechanical licenses last up to one year and expire on the last day of the licensee's birth month.
Journeymen and contractors renew with six hours of CIB-approved continuing education within the preceding 36 months of the license expiration.
The journeyman renewal fee is $75 with a $25 late fee under the fee schedule in the mechanical rules — a schedule the CIB has proposed amending, so confirm current amounts with the Board.
“All Journeymen and Contractors are required to have received six (6) hours of continuing education within the preceding thirty-six (36) months of their license expiration.”
Oklahoma issues mechanical licenses by reciprocity only where a written reciprocity agreement exists between the applicant's state and Oklahoma for the license the applicant is seeking.
Our research did not confirm which states hold mechanical agreements with Oklahoma, so ask the CIB before you assume an out-of-state license transfers.
One rule applies either way: experience earned outside Oklahoma — or in it — counts as verifiable experience only for periods when you were registered as an apprentice, unless you were lawfully exempt.
“confirm that a written reciprocity agreement exists between the applicant's state and Oklahoma for the license the applicant is seeking”
The CIB points to its 'Are They Licensed' search at cibverify.ok.gov; we took that address from the CIB site's navigation rather than the lookup page itself, so follow the lookup link on this page or from the CIB site.
Search before you hire anyone who claims licensed status, and before you accept a job with an employer that says it is licensed.
If a license you expect does not appear, confirm with the CIB directly.
This page summarizes the Oklahoma board pages, statutes, rules and other sources listed below, as read for this state-by-state HVAC licensing series, current as of September 2026.
It is not a substitute for the instructions the Oklahoma Construction Industries Board (CIB) publishes.
For the rest of the picture in Oklahoma, see plumbing licensing in Oklahoma, HVAC apprenticeships in Oklahoma, HVAC contractor licensing in Oklahoma, and hvac technician pay in Oklahoma.
Yes — journeyman is the worker level in Oklahoma's mechanical structure.
The Mechanical Licensing Act issues mechanical licenses as journeyman, contractor or inactive contractor, in categories such as HVAC limited, HVAC unlimited, refrigeration and sheet metal.
You qualify at 18 with three years of verifiable category experience — earned while registered as a CIB apprentice (one year = 2,000 hours) — or a CIB-approved school program plus reduced experience, and an open-book PSI exam.
No master tier appears in that list; the contractor license is the top rung.
Under the fee schedule in CIB's mechanical rules: the journeyman application is $25, the initial license $50 and the renewal $75, with a $25 late fee.
Apprentices pay a $5 application and $20 registration.
The exam fee goes to the testing vendor and is not stated in the rules we read.
The CIB has proposed amendments to these rules, so confirm current amounts with the Board before you pay.
Yes — with an exception the CIB names.
No person or firm may engage in mechanical contracting or perform mechanical work without the appropriate CIB license or registration, and no dollar threshold exempts small jobs.
One activity it names as needing no state license is air duct cleaning.
Work that could violate the integrity of a refrigerant circuit — maintaining, servicing, repairing or disposing of appliances containing CFC/HCFC or non-exempt substitute refrigerants — requires a pass on an exam from an EPA-approved technician certification program, in any state.
Only where Oklahoma has a written reciprocity agreement with the applicant's state, for the specific license sought.
Our research did not confirm which states hold mechanical agreements with Oklahoma, so the CIB is the place to ask before you move.
Without an agreement, experience earned in another state still counts toward licensing only if you earned it while registered as an apprentice, and Oklahoma's standard experience-and-exam path applies.
Mechanical licenses last up to one year and expire on the last day of the licensee's birth month, so your renewal date follows your birth month rather than a fixed calendar date.
Renewal takes six hours of CIB-approved continuing education within the preceding 36 months, plus the $75 journeyman renewal fee and a $25 late fee if you miss it — amounts from the fee schedule the CIB has proposed amending.
Confirm the current CE, renewal and fee rules with the CIB before your renewal month.
Sources
Sourced from the documents listed above.
Verified September 2026.
This is career information, not legal advice.
Confirm current rules with the Oklahoma Construction Industries Board (CIB).