Career guide

UPC or IPC: Which Plumbing Code Does Your State Use?

Founder, HVACHires
September 2026 7 min read

At a glance

named by the state records on this page

Exam code books

UPC and IPC

plus city codes such as Seattle's and Houston's

IAPMO state editions

CA, ID, MN, SD, WA

Alaska's journeyman exam: 2018 UPC; Montana's: 2021

The book to study

The edition your board names

Plumbing licence exams are built on code books, and the boards behind them do not all name the same one: Montana's journeyman written exam is based on the 2021 Uniform Plumbing Code (UPC) as amended, while Alabama's PGFB exams have tested the 2021 International Plumbing Code (IPC) or the 2021 International Fuel Gas Code since January 1, 2023.

Here is what each state's licensing record in our research names, and what that means for your exam.

Differences that matter on the exam

There is no single code book under every plumbing licence exam.

Some boards test the Uniform Plumbing Code (UPC), others the International Plumbing Code (IPC), and a state can base its own code on one of them β€” Minnesota's 2020 plumbing code is based on the 2018 UPC with Minnesota amendments.

The choice decides which book holds the answers your exam is keyed to β€” so the family, the edition and the amendments all matter.

One example of how specific the books get, from the IPC side: under the 2024 International Plumbing Code, Table 704.1 sets the minimum slope for horizontal drainage pipe at 1/4 inch per foot for pipe 2-1/2 inches or smaller, 1/8 inch per foot for 3- to 6-inch pipe, and 1/16 inch per foot for 8-inch and larger β€” and the same table requires at least 1/4 inch per foot (2 percent) for drainage piping upstream of a grease interceptor, whatever the pipe size.

Our research did not check the UPC's own slope values, so we won't compare the two tables here; the working point is that the answer lives in the edition your board adopted.

Edition matters alongside family.

Indiana's plumbing exams still reference the 2006 International Plumbing Code (Indiana edition) with 2012 Indiana amendments, per the Prov bulletin dated May 2026 β€” practice questions written for the 2021 or 2024 IPC can misalign there.

Nevada recertifies NBOPE certificates expiring after January 1, 2019 to the 2024 UPC, Montana's journeyman and master exams run on the 2021 UPC as amended, Alaska's journeyman exam on the 2018 edition.

"UPC or IPC" is really three variables: which family, which edition, which amendments.

For the exam wrapper around the book β€” who administers it, open-book rules, retakes and wait times β€” see our plumbing license exam guide.

Match any practice sets to your state's code and edition before you drill; our journeyman plumber practice test article splits practice questions by UPC and IPC.

Codes and editions change β€” confirm yours

In June 2026, the Colorado State Plumbing Board held a rulemaking hearing to adopt new editions of the International Plumbing Code, Fuel Gas Code and International Residential Code. Before you buy a code book or sit an exam, confirm the current code and edition with your state licensing board β€” or the city or county office where licensing is local.
Looking for plumber jobs? Browse open positions β†’

Which states use the UPC, and which use the IPC?

First, the honest limit of this page: our research found no primary source that maintains a complete UPC-vs-IPC adoption map, so this page is not that table.

What follows is the states whose licensing records our research covers with a named code β€” the exam outlines, code adoptions and continuing-education rules their boards publish.

A state missing below means our research has not pinned its code, not that it has none; your board's exam notice is the source of record.

On the UPC side β€” records that name the UPC or an IAPMO Uniform-code edition:

StateWhat the licensing record says
AlaskaAdopts the 2018 Uniform Plumbing Code (IAPMO) under 8 AAC 63.101; the Plumber Journeyman exam is open book on the 2018 UPC.
HawaiiThe plumber exam is based on the Uniform Plumbing Code and administered by Prometric; the Journey Worker Plumber licence requires 5 years and at least 10,000 hours of plumbing work under the UPC.
MinnesotaThe 2020 Minnesota Plumbing Code (chapter 4714), effective December 17, 2021, is based on the 2018 UPC with Minnesota amendments.
MontanaThe journeyman written exam runs on the 2021 UPC (as amended); the master exam on the 2021 UPC as amended β€” candidates bring their own tabbed code book.
NevadaThe NBOPE journeyman and master exam is based on the currently adopted UPC; recertifications for certificates expiring after January 1, 2019 are to the 2024 UPC.
New MexicoThe journeyman plumbing exam's references include the 2021 Uniform Plumbing Code (IAPMO).
South DakotaThe plumbing code standard is the 2024 Uniform Plumbing Code (IAPMO), as adopted by the commission.
WashingtonPlumber exams administered by PSI are based on the 2015 UPC with Washington amendments.
California, IdahoIAPMO publishes state-specific editions of its Uniform codes for their plumbing codes.

On the IPC side β€” records that name the IPC or an ICC-published state edition:

StateWhat the licensing record says
AlabamaSince January 1, 2023, Alabama PGFB exams test the 2021 International Plumbing Code or the 2021 International Fuel Gas Code.
ArkansasThe state's Plumbing and Fuel Gas Codes are state editions published by the International Code Council (ICC); the edition year is not stated in the materials our research read.
ColoradoIn June 2026 the State Plumbing Board held a rulemaking hearing to adopt new editions of the International Plumbing Code, Fuel Gas Code and International Residential Code (edition numbers not stated).
District of ColumbiaPlumbing and gas exams are open book, referencing the 2012 International Plumbing Code and the 2012 International Fuel Gas Code.
IndianaExams still reference the 2006 IPC (Indiana edition) with 2012 Indiana amendments, per the Prov bulletin dated May 2026.
LouisianaThe Journeyman Plumber exam is an 80-question, 3-hour written exam on the 2021 IPC and the 2021 International Residential Code, plus a 1-hour practical.
VermontAdopts the 2021 International Plumbing Code, with the Vermont Plumbing Rules (2025 edition).
VirginiaPlumbing continuing education must cover the International Plumbing Code.

Two wrinkles keep the map honest.

The code that applies can be set locally: outside city limits in Nebraska, sanitary plumbing in buildings other than single-family homes and farm/ranch structures needs a permit from the nearest city or village, and the 2018 Uniform Plumbing Code applies where that city has no plumbing ordinance of its own.

And cities can carry their own editions β€” IAPMO's state-adopted-codes list includes city codes for Seattle and Houston.

The book you studied and the book a job site is inspected against are not automatically the same document.

Where the code sits in the bigger picture β€” the apprentice, journeyman and master rungs it tests into β€” is its own question: our plumbing license requirements guide covers the ladder, and the state pages in that series carry each state's own licensing detail.

What it means when you move states

Whether your experience and licence carry across a state line is a reciprocity question β€” see plumbing license reciprocity for how the agreements work and what actually transfers.

The code book is a separate one: the exam you sit in a new state β€” if that state makes you sit one β€” is built on the code book that state's board names, so a plumber moving from a UPC state to an IPC state is studying a different book, not learning the trade again.

Boards can tie qualifying experience to the code itself.

Hawaii's Journey Worker Plumber licence, for example, requires 5 years and at least 10,000 hours of plumbing work under the Uniform Plumbing Code β€” a question for the Hawaii board if your hours were logged under a different code.

The code keeps following you after licensure, through continuing education.

Alaska requires 16 hours of CE in the prior 24 months to renew a journeyman certificate, at least 8 of them on changes to the UPC.

Virginia's plumbing CE must cover the International Plumbing Code.

Hawaii expects a course on Uniform Plumbing Code updates at renewal.

Which code book your CE hours track depends on which state licenses you.

The practical sequence when a move is coming: ask the new board which code and edition its exam tests, get that book, and match your practice questions to it β€” then check whether reciprocity waives the exam altogether.

The trade is the same trade everywhere; the reference book is not.

This page is career information, not legal advice β€” confirm the code, edition and exam your board requires with your state licensing board, or the city or county where licensing is local.

What Plumber Job Listings Show Right Now

From the 461 active plumber listings on HVACHires as of October 7, 2026.

Open listings
461
plumber jobs
Employers hiring
79
contractors and other employers
Posted in last 14 days
159
new listings
Median posted pay
$32/hr
from 88 listings with an hourly rate

Where the openings are

Pay employers post

  • Median $32 an hour; the middle half of posted pay runs $28.50–$39.50 (88 listings that state an hourly rate)
  • Median $97,500 a year; the middle half of posted pay runs $82,000–$112,500 (92 listings that state a salary)
  • 39% of plumber listings state any pay at all.

Benefits listings name

  • PTO / Paid Time Offnamed in 76%
  • Dental & Visionnamed in 64%
  • Health Insurancenamed in 63%
  • 401k Matchnamed in 59%
  • Company Vehiclenamed in 41%

Source: active plumber listings on HVACHires, updated daily. Pay figures use only listings that state pay (midpoint of each posted range), hourly and yearly counted separately. Benefits count listings that name the benefit; a listing that doesn’t mention one may still offer it.

Browse 461 jobs β†’

Frequently Asked Questions

What does UPC stand for in plumbing?

The Uniform Plumbing Code, published by IAPMO.

Alaska adopts the 2018 UPC under 8 AAC 63.101; South Dakota's standard is the 2024 UPC; and IAPMO publishes state-specific editions of its Uniform codes for California, Idaho, Minnesota, South Dakota and Washington, plus city codes such as Seattle's and Houston's.

The edition that applies to you is whichever one your board has adopted.

What does IPC stand for in plumbing?

The International Plumbing Code.

Vermont adopts the 2021 IPC directly, alongside the Vermont Plumbing Rules; Arkansas's Plumbing and Fuel Gas Codes are ICC-published state editions.

Licensing exams in Alabama and the District of Columbia reference the IPC, in the 2021 and 2012 editions respectively.

Is the plumbing code the same in every state?

No. The licensing records our research covers show boards on both codes β€” Montana's journeyman written exam is based on the 2021 UPC while Alabama's PGFB exams have tested the 2021 IPC or the 2021 International Fuel Gas Code since January 1, 2023 β€” and on different editions, from Alaska's 2018 UPC to Nevada's 2024 recertification standard.

New Mexico's journeyman exam references the NM Plumbing Code alongside the 2021 UPC.

Our research found no complete national adoption map, so confirm your state's code with its board.

Which plumbing code should I study for my exam?

The code and edition your board names in its exam notice.

The states in our research range from Indiana's 2006 IPC (Indiana edition) to South Dakota's 2024 UPC, and adoptions move β€” Colorado's plumbing board held a rulemaking hearing in June 2026 to adopt new editions.

Confirm the current code, edition and book rules with your state licensing board before you buy a book.

Related Career Guides

Moving for the work? Browse plumber jobs β†’