Getting a plumbing apprenticeship in Colorado starts with a licensing rule: anyone employed in the plumbing trade who is not a licensed plumber must register as a plumbing apprentice with the State Plumbing Board until licensed.
Colorado is a State Apprenticeship Agency state, and the UA's directory lists four locals β Local 3 Denver (Aurora), Local 58 Colorado Springs, Local 145 Grand Junction and Local 208 Denver.
The license ladder runs Residential, Journeyworker and Master Plumber.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
Colorado is a State Apprenticeship Agency (SAA) state on the U.S. Department of Labor's list; our research did not confirm which Colorado body acts as the SAA, so ask apprenticeship.gov or the state before you enroll.
Yes, with the licensing board: anyone employed in the plumbing trade who is not a licensed plumber must register as a plumbing apprentice with the State Plumbing Board until licensed.
The UA's directory lists four Colorado locals: Local 3 Denver (Aurora), Local 58 Colorado Springs, Local 145 Grand Junction and Local 208 Denver; SMART Sheet Metal Local 9 (a separate trade) is in Denver.
Not established in our research which Colorado PHCC, ABC or employer programs sponsor registered plumbing apprenticeships β ask the sponsor and the apprenticeship agency.
Residential Plumber: 2 years (3,400 hours); Journeyworker Plumber: 4 years (6,800 hours); Master Plumber: 5 years (8,500 hours); one month of full-time work equals 163 hours.
If you are working in the trade, register as a plumbing apprentice with the State Plumbing Board, then ask the UA locals and any employer program what they offer and whether the program is registered.
The registration anyone employed in the plumbing trade who is not a licensed plumber must hold with the State Plumbing Board until licensed.
The first licensed rung: 2 years (3,400 hours) of experience, with the board's exam given through PSI and a 70 percent pass mark.
4 years (6,800 hours) of experience and the PSI exam, passing at 70 percent.
5 years (8,500 hours) of experience and the PSI exam, passing at 75 percent.
Registered apprenticeship programs are registered either by the U.S. Department of Labor's Office of Apprenticeship, through its state field offices where no recognized State Apprenticeship Agency exists, or by a recognized State Apprenticeship Agency (SAA) acting for DOL.
Colorado is on DOL's list of recognized SAA states.
The federal floor sits on the occupation: an apprenticeable occupation must require at least 2,000 hours of on-the-job learning under the industry standard.
The union presence our research confirms in Colorado: the UA's find-a-local directory lists Local 3 Denver (Aurora), Local 58 Colorado Springs, Local 145 Grand Junction and Local 208 Denver.
Our research did not confirm which Colorado employers or associations sponsor registered plumbing apprenticeships, so ask before you sign.
Colorado's rule is a licensing-board rule, not a program formality: anyone employed in the plumbing trade who is not a licensed plumber must be registered as a plumbing apprentice with the State Plumbing Board until licensed, whether or not they are in a formal program.
Program registration and this board registration are different things: recognized State Apprenticeship Agencies register apprenticeship programs for DOL, while the State Plumbing Board, part of the Division of Professions and Occupations (DORA), licenses the trade at three levels β Residential Plumber, Journeyworker Plumber and Master Plumber.
The experience totals behind them are 2 years (3,400 hours), 4 years (6,800 hours) and 5 years (8,500 hours), with one month of full-time work counted as 163 hours.
Our research does not state how registered-program hours are credited toward those totals, or Colorado's apprentice-to-plumber supervision ratio β the federal rule requires a program's standards to state a numeric ratio but sets no number β so confirm both with the board.
Completing a registered apprenticeship earns a completion certificate from the registration agency β a certificate that is not itself a license.
The State Plumbing Board's plumbing program also registers Water Installers and Water Principals (water conditioning) separately.
βAn Apprentice must be registered until such time as the individual has actually obtained a Colorado plumber's license.β
The United Association's find-a-local directory lists four UA locals in Colorado: Local 3 Denver (Aurora), Local 58 Colorado Springs, Local 145 Grand Junction and Local 208 Denver.
Nationally, the UA describes its apprenticeships as registered with the U.S. Department of Labor (and Canadian authorities), typically lasting five years, and covering plumbing, pipefitting, HVACR, welding and fire protection.
That is the UA's national description: our research confirmed the Colorado locals from the directory, not each local's current program details, entry standards or application dates, so ask the local β or its JATC, where it has one β what it offers and when it takes applications.
SMART Sheet Metal Local 9 is also based in Denver; sheet metal is a separate trade with its own registered apprenticeships β the International Training Institute for the trade is jointly sponsored by SMART and the contractors' group SMACNA and reports more than 14,000 registered apprentices in the US and Canada β so treat it as the neighboring trade rather than a plumbing route.
Our research did not confirm which Colorado merit-shop organizations or individual employers sponsor registered plumbing apprenticeships β no Colorado PHCC, ABC or ACCA chapter program was verified β so treat this as an open question and ask each sponsor and the apprenticeship agency.
The national associations exist: PHCC, the Plumbing-Heating-Cooling Contractors Association, offers apprenticeship content through an online learning academy, and Associated Builders and Contractors describes itself as founded on the merit shop philosophy.
A formal program is not what the board's rule requires: what Colorado requires of an unlicensed worker in the trade is apprentice registration with the State Plumbing Board.
The test for any program is registration β a program becomes a registered apprenticeship when it is registered, by DOL's Office of Apprenticeship or by a recognized State Apprenticeship Agency acting for DOL.
The classroom side of a registered apprenticeship is related technical instruction.
Federally, the Department of Labor recommends β but does not require β a minimum of 144 hours of it per year of apprenticeship, and each program's registered standards set what it actually asks of you.
Our research did not confirm which Colorado community colleges, trade schools or union training centers deliver plumbing-related instruction, or whether classroom hours transfer between programs, so ask each sponsor where its apprentices take class and how the hours are documented before you enroll.
On the license side, Colorado's experience totals are years-and-hours based, and our sources do not state how classroom or registered-program hours are credited toward them β the State Plumbing Board is the place to confirm that.
Colorado's rule shapes the first step: if you are employed in the plumbing trade and not yet licensed, register as a plumbing apprentice with the State Plumbing Board, whose plumbing pages sit under the Division of Professions and Occupations at dpo.colorado.gov/Plumbing.
Then find a program: ask the UA locals our research confirms in Colorado what they offer, and check that any other program you consider is registered, by DOL's Office of Apprenticeship or by a recognized State Apprenticeship Agency acting for DOL.
Federally, a registered apprentice must be at least 16 unless a higher minimum age applies, pay follows a progressively increasing schedule tied to the skill you acquire, and the probationary period cannot exceed 25 percent of the program length or 1 year, whichever is shorter.
The finish line is the license: 2 years (3,400 hours) for Residential, 4 years (6,800 hours) for Journeyworker and 5 years (8,500 hours) for Master, with exams through PSI passing at 70 percent for Residential and Journeyworker and 75 percent for Master.
Once licensed, plan for at least 8 hours of approved continuing education in each year of the two-year license period.
In June 2026 the Colorado State Plumbing Board held a rulemaking hearing to adopt new editions of the International Plumbing Code, Fuel Gas Code and International Residential Code; the board's page did not state which edition numbers were proposed, so confirm the code editions in force before you study for an exam.
Our research did not surface other recent changes to the apprentice registration rule or the experience totals, and the figures on this page are as the board published them when read in September 2026.
This page summarizes the Colorado board pages, statutes, rules and other sources listed below, as read for this state-by-state plumbing apprenticeships series, current as of September 2026.
It is not a substitute for the instructions the Colorado State Plumbing Board (Division of Professions and Occupations, DORA) publishes.
For the rest of the picture in Colorado, see plumbing licensing in Colorado and HVAC apprenticeships in Colorado.
Yes, if you are not a licensed plumber.
The State Plumbing Board's rule is that anyone employed in the plumbing trade who is not a licensed plumber must be registered as a plumbing apprentice until they have actually obtained a Colorado plumber's license.
The registration is with the board β part of the Division of Professions and Occupations in DORA β and it is separate from registering with an apprenticeship program.
The board's experience totals are 2 years (3,400 hours) for a Residential Plumber, 4 years (6,800 hours) for a Journeyworker Plumber and 5 years (8,500 hours) for a Master Plumber, with one month of full-time work counted as 163 hours.
Exams are given through PSI, passing at 70 percent for Residential and Journeyworker and 75 percent for Master.
Our research does not state how apprenticeship-program hours are credited, so confirm with the board.
The UA's directory lists two locals under Denver: Local 3 Denver (Aurora) and Local 208 Denver.
SMART Sheet Metal Local 9 is also based there, though sheet metal is a separate trade.
A directory listing confirms the local, not its current program details, so contact each local β or its JATC β about entry standards, wages and application dates.
No. Colorado offers plumber licensure by endorsement for out-of-state plumbers whose credentials are substantially equivalent, whose state gave a comparable exam, and who have held a state license for at least six months.
City or county licenses do not qualify for endorsement.
The State Plumbing Board's applications page lists the documentation it wants, so start there before you assume the apprentice route applies to you.
Our research did not confirm a fee for the State Plumbing Board's apprentice registration or program-level costs, so ask the board and each sponsor before you apply.
What the federal standard does fix: a registered program must pay a progressively increasing schedule of wages tied to the skill you acquire, and the entry wage may not fall below the FLSA minimum wage where it applies.
Sources
Sourced from the documents listed above.
Verified September 2026.
This is career information, not legal advice.
Confirm current rules with the Colorado State Plumbing Board (Division of Professions and Occupations, DORA).