What bond and insurance does an HVAC or plumbing contractor licence require?

The bond amount, the general liability minimum and the workers' comp proof that state and city boards ask heating, cooling and plumbing contractors to file — tabled, with who sets each rule.

How much bond and insurance your contractor licence needs is set by the board that issues it — state by state, and city by city where licensing is local — and the amounts range widely.

HVAC contractor bond amounts in the states below run from $1,000 (Arizona's residential floor and Nevada's low end) to $500,000 (Nevada's ceiling), with Idaho's at $2,000 and California's at $25,000.

General liability minimums in the table below run from $50,000 (Oklahoma) to $1,000,000 per occurrence (New York City master plumbers, Utah, Pittsburgh), and workers' comp proof completes the packet where required.

What is a contractor licence bond?

A contractor licence bond is usually a bond a licensing board requires as part of getting the licence.

Indianapolis's Board of Heating and Cooling Examiners shows the packet plainly — after board approval, a heating and cooling contractor files proof of a surety bond, general liability insurance and workers' compensation coverage, with fees, before it is licensed.

Three separate proofs, one filing.

The bond is not the insurance, and the names states give it vary.

Alabama's HACR board requires a $20,000 performance bond from contractors in active status.

Idaho calls its $2,000 requirement a compliance bond.

Illinois plumbing contractors file a $20,000 indemnification bond or a letter of credit.

Minnesota, which has no state mechanical contractor licence at all, still requires businesses to file a $25,000 mechanical contractor bond with the Department of Labor and Industry before contracting for gas, heating, ventilation, cooling, air conditioning, fuel burning or refrigeration work.

What the bond obliges you to is defined by the rule that requires it — read your board's statute, not the label.

Who issues it is a surety company, where the state names one: New Mexico requires its $10,000 bond to be underwritten by a corporate surety authorized to transact business in New Mexico, posted at licensure and again at every renewal.

Some boards accept your own money instead of a surety's — Washington takes a $6,000 assigned savings account in place of the plumbing contractor bond, and Oklahoma's plumbing board $5,000 in cash or a certificate of deposit.

Illinois also accepts a $20,000 letter of credit in place of the bond.

Not every state uses a bond.

Maryland runs HVACR contracting on insurance: licensees who sign or approve contracts carry at least $300,000 general liability and $100,000 property damage instead.

Georgia has no mandatory state licence bond for conditioned air contractors or plumbers at all.

And the requirement can follow a person as well as the company — California adds a separate $25,000 qualifying individual's bond when the qualifier is not the proprietor or a general partner, and DC's designated master posts their own $5,000 alongside the company's $5,000.

Which is exactly why the only number that matters for your filing is your board's number.

Bond amounts by state

Each amount below is set in that state's own licensing rule.

Examples from the boards our research covers:

StateWhere the bond goesAmount
CaliforniaEvery CSLB contractor licence$25,000 contractor's bond; plus a separate $25,000 qualifying individual's bond when the qualifier is not the proprietor or a general partner
AlabamaHACR active contractor certification$20,000 performance bond (inactive status requires no bond)
MinnesotaDLI filing — no state mechanical contractor licence$25,000 mechanical contractor bond; plumbing contractors file a $25,000 surety bond
WashingtonL&I contractor registration; plumbing contractor licence$15,000 specialty ($30,000 general, since July 1, 2024); plumbing contractor $6,000 bond or assigned savings
OregonCCB registrationResidential specialty $20,000, residential general $25,000, residential limited $15,000; commercial specialty $25,000–$55,000 by level
ArizonaROC specialty contractorsCommercial $2,500–$50,000 by annual volume; residential $1,000–$7,500, plus the Residential Contractors' Recovery Fund or an extra $200,000 bond for residential/dual licensees
NevadaNSCB licence$1,000–$500,000 (set for each contractor at licence approval)
AlaskaMechanical or specialty contractor$10,000
New MexicoState contractor licence$10,000, reposted at each renewal
OklahomaCIB mechanical contractors; plumbing contractors$5,000 corporate surety bond (plumbing contractors may substitute $5,000 cash or a certificate of deposit)
IllinoisPlumbing contractor (state registration)$20,000 indemnification bond or letter of credit
District of ColumbiaRefrigeration/air-conditioning and plumbing/gasfitting contractor licences$5,000 (company) plus $5,000 (designated master)
New JerseyMaster HVACR contractor$3,000 — a $3,000 bond already filed with the Master Plumbers Board satisfies it
IdahoHVAC and plumbing contractor certification$2,000 compliance bond
South CarolinaMechanical contractor (optional, in lieu of a financial statement)$7,000–$300,000 by net-worth group
MarylandHVACR licensees who sign or approve contractsRuns on insurance rather than a bond: $300,000 GL plus $100,000 property damage
GeorgiaConditioned air and plumbingNo mandatory state bond; an optional $10,000 probate-court bond is available

Two layers sit outside that table.

Some cities add their own bond on top of the state's: a state-registered Illinois plumbing contractor must also hold a City of Chicago plumbing contractor licence to work in Chicago, and the business files a separate $20,000 performance bond with the City Clerk.

And where HVAC licensing is local — Indianapolis states that HVAC licensing in Indiana is at the discretion of the local municipality — the city's board sets it: Indianapolis requires heating and cooling contractors to file proof of a surety bond, but the dollar figure is not stated in the board document our research reviewed, so ask the Board of Heating and Cooling Examiners directly.

Georgia's optional bond is worth a second look if you work across jurisdiction lines: a licensee who deposits the $10,000 bond with the probate court in the county of their principal place of business stops counties and cities from demanding a separate code-compliance bond.

If you are still working out which licence triggers these filings at all, that is the licensing layer — covered in our guides to the HVAC contractor license and the plumbing contractor license.

General liability minimums by state

General liability works the same way — each board sets its own floor, and some boards want their name on the paperwork, not just the coverage amount:

JurisdictionWho the minimum bindsLiability minimum
New York CityMaster plumber businesses$1,000,000 per occurrence, plus workers' compensation and disability insurance
UtahContractors$1,000,000 per incident / $2,000,000 total, plus workers' comp (or a Labor Commission waiver if no employees)
PittsburghTrade licence holders pulling permits$1,000,000 per occurrence / $2,000,000 aggregate, plus workers' comp (or a no-employee affidavit)
New JerseyMaster HVACR contractors offering services to the public$500,000 combined property damage and bodily injury per occurrence
OhioLicensed contractors$500,000 liability including completed-operations coverage, in the name of the company the licence is assigned to
Rhode IslandCRLB registrants$500,000 combined single limit, plus workers' compensation
Kentucky (HVAC)HVAC contractors$500,000 general liability + $300,000 property damage — state proof exempts them from separate local insurance requirements
PhiladelphiaMaster plumbers$500,000 general liability + $300,000 auto liability, plus workers' comp
LouisianaA master plumber's employing entity$500,000 aggregate general liability and property damage, plus workers' comp and motor-vehicle liability at the legal minimum
Maryland (HVACR)Licensees who sign or approve contracts$300,000 general liability + $100,000 property damage ($400,000 combined), naming the HVACR Board as certificate holder
Maryland (plumbing)Master plumbers$400,000 per occurrence ($300,000 GL + $100,000 property damage); no umbrella policies accepted
TexasACR contractors (Class A / Class B); Responsible Master PlumberClass A: $300,000 per occurrence / $600,000 aggregate / $300,000 products-completed operations; Class B: $100,000 / $200,000 / $100,000; RMP designation: proof of $300,000 commercial liability insurance
WashingtonPlumbing contractor licence$250,000 liability insurance
Kentucky (plumbing)Plumbing businesses operating under a master plumber$250,000 general liability, plus workers' comp and unemployment insurance compliance
HawaiiContractors$100,000 bodily injury per person / $300,000 per occurrence / $50,000 property damage, plus workers' comp
IllinoisPlumbing contractors$100,000 per occurrence / $300,000 aggregate bodily injury and $50,000 property damage (or a $300,000 combined single limit), plus $500,000 workers' comp employer's liability
MinnesotaPlumbing contractors$50,000 per person / $100,000 per occurrence products liability + $10,000 property damage, plus workers' comp
FloridaAir-conditioning, mechanical and plumbing contractors$100,000 public liability + $25,000 property damage
AlaskaContractors$50,000 injury to one person / $100,000 to more than one person / $20,000 property damage, plus workers' comp where required
OklahomaMechanical and plumbing contractors$50,000 general liability — mechanical contractors name the CIB as certificate holder
NevadaNSCB licenseesNo general-liability minimum stated by the board; proof of industrial insurance (workers' comp) is required

The paperwork details are as binding as the numbers.

Maryland's boards and Oklahoma's CIB are named as certificate holders on the policy, so your agent has to list them.

Maryland's plumbing board refuses umbrella policies toward its $400,000 per-occurrence minimum — you cannot close the gap with an umbrella.

Ohio wants the liability policy in the name of the company the licence is assigned to, not a personal policy.

And Kentucky's rule works in reverse: proof at the state level exempts an HVAC contractor from having to satisfy separate local insurance requirements.

These are floors your board checks, not coverage recommendations — what the policy should actually carry is a question for your carrier and your contracts.

When is workers' comp proof required?

Workers' compensation is the third proof in the packet, and boards check it when you license — Nevada checks it at renewal too, and Nebraska requires a current certificate kept on file.

Indianapolis files it with the bond and general liability proof before licensing.

Arizona's ROC applicants attest to workers' compensation compliance, including the policy number where coverage is required.

Nevada requires proof of industrial insurance to be licensed or renewed, unless the contractor is exempt and signs an affidavit.

Nebraska contractors with one or more employees must keep a current workers' compensation certificate (ACORD 25) on file with NDOL or be removed from the registered list.

Those filings are about your employees: Montana contractors hiring employees must cover them under a Montana workers' compensation policy.

Iowa's contractor licence asks for proof of workers' compensation and unemployment insurance compliance together.

West Virginia bundles the same two verifications with its Tax Department registration.

Illinois folds the coverage into the insurance minimum itself — plumbing contractors carry $500,000 in workers' comp employer's liability alongside their general liability limits.

Solo shops are the exception several jurisdictions write for.

Utah accepts a Labor Commission waiver if the contractor has no employees.

A New York City master plumber business with no employees files a CE-200 exemption from workers' compensation and disability insurance.

Pittsburgh accepts a no-employee affidavit in place of the comp proof.

What we cannot give you is a state-by-state trigger list: the registration thresholds — when exactly a shop must start carrying coverage — were not researched state by state, so do not read any of the above as your state's employee-count trigger.

Before you license — and before you hire your first employee — confirm the requirement with your state's workers' compensation agency and your licensing board.

That first hire changes more than this packet — our guide to hiring HVAC and plumbing techs covers what comes with the person, not just the paperwork.

What do bonds and insurance cost a small shop?

The boards set the amounts.

What our research confirmed is the size of each requirement and the filing fees wrapped around it.

What a surety charges to issue a bond, or a carrier charges for a policy at these limits, it did not confirm — so treat the tables above as the specification, get quotes from surety and insurance providers against it, and confirm the current figure with your board before you apply or renew.

The costs the rules do state are filing costs, and they are small next to the coverage amounts: Minnesota's mechanical contractor bond filing costs $100 and is valid two years; Rhode Island's CRLB registration or renewal is $150; Alabama's HACR active status runs $220 a year — while inactive status, $110 a year, requires no bond at all.

Renewal cycles matter too: New Mexico reposts its $10,000 bond at every renewal, and DC's bonds expire with the licence, September 30 of even years for refrigeration/air-conditioning and March 31 of even years for plumbing/gasfitting.

The amount can also follow your structure.

California adds a second $25,000 qualifying individual's bond when your qualifier is not the proprietor or a general partner.

DC's designated master posts their own $5,000 next to the company's.

Arizona scales the commercial specialty bond to annual construction volume, Nevada's board sets each contractor's bond individually based on licence type, monetary limit, financial responsibility, experience and character, and South Carolina trades a net-worth financial statement for a bond of $7,000 to $300,000 depending on the group.

And if you post your own money instead of a surety's — Washington's $6,000 assigned savings or Oklahoma's plumbing-board cash/CD option — you are committing your own money rather than paying a bond company.

Illinois also accepts a $20,000 letter of credit in place of the bond.

Once the bond is filed, the policy is active and the comp certificate is on the board's shelf, the bond-and-insurance part of the licence packet is done.

What it earns depends on the crew working under it — the sourcing, pay and screening of hiring HVAC and plumbing techs.

This page is employer career and business information, not legal advice. Bond and insurance rules are set by each state's licensing board — and by cities and counties where licensing is local — so confirm the amounts that apply to your licence with the board that issues it before you apply or renew.

Before you file: the packet's moving parts

  • The bond itself — or your state's accepted alternative (assigned savings, cash/CD or letter of credit) — at the amount your board's rule sets.
  • A certificate of general liability insurance at your state's minimum; where the board is named as certificate holder (Maryland's boards, Oklahoma's CIB), your agent must list it.
  • Workers' comp proof: the policy or certificate where you have employees, or the waiver or affidavit your jurisdiction accepts if you have none (Utah's Labor Commission waiver, New York City's CE-200, Pittsburgh's no-employee affidavit).
  • The filing fee and your renewal date — Minnesota's $100 bond filing runs two years, Rhode Island's registration is $150, and bonds in New Mexico and DC are reposted or expire on the state's cycle, not yours.

Questions employers ask

How much is an HVAC contractor bond?

There is no single figure — each board sets its own.

Examples run from a $2,000 compliance bond in Idaho to $25,000 in California (for every contractor licence) and Minnesota's $25,000 mechanical contractor bond, with Nevada's board setting each contractor's bond individually anywhere from $1,000 to $500,000.

In Indianapolis, the Board of Heating and Cooling Examiners requires proof of a surety bond, but the amount is not stated in the board document we reviewed.

Ask the board.

Confirm your figure with the board that issues your licence.

Do all states require a bond for an HVAC or plumbing contractor licence?

No. Maryland runs HVACR contracting on insurance — $300,000 general liability plus $100,000 property damage for licensees who sign contracts — rather than a bond, and Georgia has no mandatory state licence bond for conditioned air contractors or plumbers.

Minnesota has no state mechanical contractor licence but still requires a $25,000 bond filing.

Cities add their own layer too: Chicago requires a separate $20,000 performance bond from plumbing contractors working in the city.

Is a contractor licence bond the same as liability insurance?

No — boards treat them as separate filings with separate minimums.

Indianapolis's HVAC board takes proof of a surety bond, general liability insurance and workers' compensation as three distinct items in one application.

Some boards also let you substitute your own money for the bond: Washington accepts a $6,000 assigned savings account in place of the plumbing contractor bond, and Oklahoma's plumbing board $5,000 cash or a certificate of deposit.

Illinois also accepts a $20,000 letter of credit in place of the bond.

The insurance minimum stands on its own either way.

What insurance does a plumbing contractor need?

It depends on the state.

Kentucky requires $250,000 general liability for plumbing businesses operating under a master plumber; Maryland master plumbers carry $400,000 per occurrence with no umbrella policies accepted; a Texas Responsible Master Plumber must show proof of $300,000 commercial liability insurance; Illinois plumbing contractors carry $100,000/$300,000 bodily injury limits plus $500,000 workers' comp employer's liability.

Confirm the current minimum with your state board before you file.

More hiring resources

Bonded, insured — and short-handed?

Once the licence packet is filed, post your opening where HVAC and plumbing techs already look — next to the guides they read.