🏢 HVAC contractor license by state

HVAC Contractor License in District of Columbia: Requirements, Qualifier, Bond and Exams

Founder, HVACHires
Last verified September 2026

Yes: District of Columbia licenses HVAC contracting businesses District-wide through the DLCP Board of Industrial Trades.

The business holds a refrigeration/air-conditioning trade contractor license that requires no exam; instead the company designates a DC-licensed master mechanic as its qualifier and posts surety bonds of $5,000 (company) and $5,000 (master).

The license and bonds expire September 30 of even-numbered years, whenever issued.

Fees were not found in our research — confirm them with the Board.

Verify before you rely on this

Licensing rules change by statute, board rule and local ordinance, and this page is career information, not legal advice. Confirm every requirement with the licensing board (or, where licensing is local, the city or county) before you apply, schedule an exam, count hours or bid a job. In District of Columbia, that is the DLCP Board of Industrial Trades.

At a glance

Statewide contractor license

Yes.

The DLCP Board of Industrial Trades licenses refrigeration/air-conditioning contractor businesses District-wide.

Issuing agency

The DLCP Board of Industrial Trades.

License classes

One classification recorded in our research: Refrigeration/Air Conditioning.

The sources we read show no Class A/B split and no job-value tiers — confirm the current classes with the Board.

Qualifier

A DC-licensed master refrigeration and air-conditioning mechanic: at least 5 consecutive years on systems larger than 25 compressor horsepower immediately before applying, verified in writing by a master.

Exams

None for the contractor license.

DC's refrigeration/air-conditioning mechanic exams are open book; the exam vendor was not found in our research.

Bond & insurance

Surety bonds of $5,000 (company) and $5,000 (master), expiring with the license on September 30 of even years.

No insurance minimum appears in our research.

Cost & renewal

Fees were not found in our research — ask the Board.

The license expires September 30 of even-numbered years, whenever issued; no CE requirement was found either.

Reciprocity

Not established in our research — the DC sources we read describe no reciprocity path for this contractor license.

Confirm with the Board.

The District of Columbia HVAC license ladder

  1. Master Refrigeration and Air-Conditioning MechanicMaster

    The qualifier credential a contractor license is built on: at least 5 consecutive years immediately before applying spent working on systems larger than 25 compressor horsepower, verified in writing by a master mechanic.

  2. Refrigeration/Air-Conditioning Trade ContractorContractor

    The business license: no exam, a designated DC-licensed master, and surety bonds of $5,000 (company) and $5,000 (master), expiring September 30 of even years.

Does District of Columbia license HVAC contractors statewide, or only locally?

Yes — District-wide.

DC licenses the refrigeration and air-conditioning trade through the DLCP Board of Industrial Trades: mechanics are licensed individually at apprentice, journeyman and master levels, with limited licenses for work done at 25 horsepower and below, and the business that contracts for the work needs a separate trade contractor license from the same board.

This page covers the business license.

The worker-side mechanic licenses are their own track, with their own DC guide on this site.

“Licenses are offered for refrigeration and air-conditioning. Limited licenses are offered for work done at 25 horsepower and below.”

Which agency issues the license, and what are the classes?

The issuing agency is the DLCP Board of Industrial Trades.

For this trade our research records one contractor classification: Refrigeration/Air Conditioning — the row in DLCP's trade contractor table that carries the two $5,000 bonds and the September 30 (even year) expiry.

The sources we read show no Class A/B split, no limited contractor version and no job-value tiers for HVAC contractors; that is what we checked, not a promise about DLCP's full classification list, so confirm the current classes with the Board.

DLCP's trade contractor instructions also carry the company-side steps: the company registers with DLCP Corporations, and the designated master accepts the designation.

Who can be the qualifier, and what experience do they need?

The qualifier is a DC-licensed master refrigeration and air-conditioning mechanic whom the company designates.

The master credential's experience bar is set in the D.C. Code: at least 5 consecutive years, immediately before applying, spent working on systems larger than 25 compressor horsepower, verified in writing by a master mechanic.

A limited master credential also exists — 5 years on systems under 25 horsepower plus CFC certification — but our sources do not say whether a limited master can serve as a contractor license's designated master, so ask the Board before you build your qualifier plan around one.

The credential chain explains where a qualifier comes from: apprentices register with no experience (they must show employment verification or school enrollment) and work only under a licensed master's direct personal supervision, and sitting the journeyman exam takes 3 years' experience plus EPA CFC Universal certification — the exam itself is waived for graduates of a nationally certified apprenticeship.

Whether the designated master must be an owner or may be an employee is not stated in our research — put the question to the Board when you apply.

“for a period of at least 5 consecutive years immediately preceding the date of application, as verified in writing by a master mechanic”

Which exams must you pass: trade, and business and law?

None.

The Board's trade contractor instruction sheet states that there is no exam required to obtain a contractor's license — no trade exam and no separate business-and-law exam — and the license's designated master is responsible for supervising the work and the people on the company's projects.

The exams that do exist in this trade sit on the mechanic licenses: DC's refrigeration/air-conditioning mechanic exams are open book, with study references listed as the 2012 International Mechanical Code and Modern Refrigeration and Air Conditioning (2004).

The exam vendor was not found in our research — check with DLCP before scheduling anything.

“There is no exam required to obtain a contractor’s license.”

What bond and insurance are required?

Bonds are the requirement our research confirms: a DC refrigeration/air-conditioning contractor license requires surety bonds of $5,000 for the company and $5,000 for the master, and the license and its bonds expire September 30 of even years.

Both amounts sit on the Refrigeration/Air Conditioning row of DLCP's trade contractor table.

Insurance is the open part: the sources we read set no insurance minimum for HVAC contractor applicants, so ask the Board what proof of coverage, if any, your application needs.

“Refrigeration/Air Conditioning $5000 $5000 September 30 (Even Year)”

What does it cost, and how often is it renewed?

The renewal clock is fixed: DC refrigeration/air-conditioning licenses expire September 30 of even-numbered years, regardless of when they were obtained, and the contractor license and its two bonds run on that same date.

The price is the gap: DC trade license fees for refrigeration/AC were not found in the sources we read, and neither was any continuing-education requirement, so price the license from DLCP's current fee schedule rather than from this page and confirm any CE with the Board before you renew.

Does District of Columbia have reciprocity with other states?

Our research did not find a reciprocity arrangement for DC refrigeration/air-conditioning contractor licenses — the Board pages we read describe none.

What the facts do establish is what the license rests on either way: a DC-licensed master to designate, with the master credential's own experience bar of at least 5 consecutive years on systems larger than 25 compressor horsepower immediately before applying, verified in writing by a master mechanic.

That window is the 5 consecutive years immediately before the application, so confirm with the Board how out-of-state experience is treated before you count older work toward it.

What happens if your qualifier leaves?

Our research did not find a replacement deadline: whether the Board must be notified, and by when, when the designated master leaves was not found in DLCP's trade contractor instructions.

Whether one master may be the designated master for more than one company is open too — treat it as a Board question.

What is established is what the master carries: the designated master is responsible for supervising the work and the people on the company's projects, and the license requires a designated master.

If yours leaves, ask the Board promptly about replacing the designation.

What This Page Does, and Doesn’t, Cover

This page summarizes the District of Columbia board pages, statutes, rules and other sources listed below, as read for this state-by-state HVAC contractor licensing series, current as of September 2026.

It is not a substitute for the instructions the DLCP Board of Industrial Trades publishes.

For the rest of the picture in District of Columbia, see plumbing contractor licensing in District of Columbia and HVAC licensing in District of Columbia.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does District of Columbia require an HVAC contractor license?

Yes.

DC issues a trade contractor license for refrigeration/air-conditioning work through the DLCP Board of Industrial Trades.

There is no exam; the company designates a DC-licensed master mechanic as its qualifier and posts surety bonds of $5,000 (company) and $5,000 (master).

The license and bonds expire September 30 of even-numbered years.

Do you have to be a master mechanic to run an HVAC company in DC?

Your company must designate a DC-licensed master refrigeration and air-conditioning mechanic as its qualifier, but our research does not state whether that master must be an owner or may be an employee — ask the Board when you apply.

The master credential itself requires at least 5 consecutive years on systems larger than 25 compressor horsepower immediately before applying, verified in writing by a master mechanic.

How much does a DC HVAC contractor license cost?

Our research did not find DC trade license fees for refrigeration/AC, so price your application from DLCP's current fee schedule.

The license does require two surety bonds — $5,000 for the company and $5,000 for the master — though those are the bond amounts, not what a bond costs.

The license renews on a fixed clock: it expires September 30 of even-numbered years no matter when it was issued.

How do I look up a DC HVAC contractor license?

DLCP's site links to an occupational/professional license portal at govservices.dcra.dc.gov/oplaportal.

Our research recorded that link from DLCP's navigation but did not open the portal itself, so if a record does not come back the way you expect, contact the Board of Industrial Trades directly.

Checking before you hire a qualifier — or sign a subcontract — is the practical way to confirm a license is current.

Does one DC contractor license cover both refrigeration and air conditioning?

Our research shows one trade family: DC licenses refrigeration and air-conditioning together, and DLCP's trade contractor table carries a single Refrigeration/Air Conditioning row with the two $5,000 bonds and the September 30 (even year) expiry.

On the individual side, limited licenses cover work done at 25 horsepower and below.

Confirm the exact scope of work your classification covers with the Board before you bid.

Hiring HVAC techs in District of Columbia?
Post your opening on HVACHires and reach HVAC techs where they look for work.

More District of Columbia Resources

Sources

Sourced from the documents listed above.

Verified September 2026.

This is career information, not legal advice.

Confirm current rules with the DLCP Board of Industrial Trades.