🏢 Plumbing contractor license by state

Plumbing Contractor License in Alaska: Requirements, Qualifier, Bond and Exams

Founder, HVACHires
Last verified September 2026

Yes.

Alaska issues no separate plumbing contractor license: a plumbing contracting business registers as a Mechanical Contractor with the Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing (CBPL) and must hold, or have assigned, a Mechanical Administrator license in a plumbing category.

The surety bond is $10,000 and general liability minimums are $20,000/$50,000/$100,000.

The plumbers doing the hands-on work need their own state certificates of fitness, issued by the Department of Labor & Workforce Development's Mechanical Inspection section — a different agency from CBPL.

Verify before you rely on this

Licensing rules change by statute, board rule and local ordinance, and this page is career information, not legal advice. Confirm every requirement with the licensing board (or, where licensing is local, the city or county) before you apply, schedule an exam, count hours or bid a job. In Alaska, that is the Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing (CBPL).

At a glance

Statewide contractor license

Yes.

There is no separate plumbing contractor license: the business registers as a Mechanical Contractor with CBPL and holds, or has assigned, a Mechanical Administrator license in a plumbing category.

Issuing agency

The Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing (CBPL).

Plumber certificates of fitness — required to do plumbing work — come from a different agency, the Department of Labor & Workforce Development's Mechanical Inspection section.

License classes

The Mechanical Contractor registration for the business, plus the qualifier's Mechanical Administrator category — the plumbing categories in the 12 AAC 39 list include unlimited commercial and industrial plumbing, and residential plumbing and hydronic heating.

Qualifier

A Mechanical Administrator in a plumbing category: unlimited commercial and industrial plumbing needs journeyman plumber or field-superintendent experience in at least 4 of the prior 6 years, or the ME degree/PE route.

Exams

A department-approved Mechanical Administrator exam: at least 70%, taken within 12 months before applying, at most three attempts in 12 months.

No separate business-and-law exam appeared in our research; the exam vendor is not verified.

Bond & insurance

A $10,000 surety bond for a mechanical contractor, plus general liability of $20,000/$50,000/$100,000 and workers' compensation where required.

Cost & renewal

Registration fee and cycle not established in our research — ask CBPL.

The administrator renews with an 8-hour code CE workshop (or equivalent) each licensing period; a journeyman COF renews for $200 with 16 CE hours in the prior 24 months.

Reciprocity

Not established for the contractor registration or administrator license — ask CBPL.

At the worker level, Mechanical Inspection offers a Reciprocal Plumber Journeyman COF for out-of-state licenses active one full year where the origin state's requirements are substantially similar.

The Alaska plumbing license ladder

  1. Plumber Trainee COFEntry level

    The entry certificate for someone working toward a journeyman COF: applicants show indenture in a plumbing apprenticeship registered with the U.S. DOL Office of Apprenticeship, and a job site may have no more than two plumber trainees for every certified plumber journeyman.

  2. Plumber Journeyman COFJourneyman

    The worker credential for plumbing installation: 8,000 hours of legally obtained plumbing installation work while holding an Alaska Trainee COF, a 70% open-book exam on the 2018 Uniform Plumbing Code, and a $50 application fee plus a $200 certificate fee.

  3. Mechanical Administrator license, plumbing categoriesOther

    The qualifier's person license, issued by CBPL by category — for plumbing, the 12 AAC 39 list includes unlimited commercial and industrial plumbing, and residential plumbing and hydronic heating.

    It is supervisory and does not itself allow the holder to perform code work.

  4. Mechanical Contractor registrationContractor

    The business credential: a contractor registration with CBPL that must also hold, or have assigned, a Mechanical Administrator license covering the discipline the business works in — for a plumbing contractor, a plumbing category.

Does Alaska license plumbing contractors statewide, or only locally?

📜 Alaska CBPL: Construction Contractors

Yes — statewide, and in two parts.

Alaska has no separate plumbing contractor license: the business registers with CBPL as a mechanical contractor, and it must hold, or have assigned, a Mechanical Administrator license covering its discipline — plumbing, heating, sheet metal or refrigeration.

The mechanical work the business may perform follows the discipline that administrator license allows.

The worker side runs through a second state agency: the Department of Labor & Workforce Development's Mechanical Inspection section requires a certificate of fitness (COF) to do plumbing work, and its inspection jurisdiction covers communities of 2,500 population and above; the Municipality of Anchorage inspects under an agreement, and a state COF is still required there.

“Mechanical contractors may perform any of the mechanical disciplines for which their Mechanical Administrator license allows (plumbing, heating, sheet metal, or refrigeration).”

Which agency issues the license, and what are the classes?

📜 12 AAC 39

Two Alaska agencies matter, and they are easy to confuse.

CBPL — the Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing in the Department of Commerce — registers mechanical contractors and licenses Mechanical Administrators; the credentials on this page are theirs.

The Department of Labor & Workforce Development's Mechanical Inspection section issues the trade certificates of fitness your crew's plumbers need; the plumbing classes are Plumber Journeyman, Plumber Gas (PG), Plumber Restricted Utility (PU) and trainee certificates.

The administrator license is issued by category, and the 12 AAC 39 list includes plumbing categories — unlimited commercial and industrial plumbing, and residential plumbing and hydronic heating — alongside heating, cooling and process piping, unlimited HVAC/sheet metal, unlimited refrigeration and mechanical systems temperature control.

There is no state master plumber license: the state's Mechanical Inspection FAQ describes an administrator license held together with a trade COF as letting the holder function like a master trades license works in many other states.

Who can be the qualifier, and what experience do they need?

📜 12 AAC 39; AS 08.40.280

The qualifier is a Mechanical Administrator whose license covers a plumbing category, held by the business or assigned to it.

The experience rules sit in 12 AAC 39: for the unlimited commercial and industrial plumbing category, an applicant needs practical experience as a journeyman plumber — or plumbing field-superintendent experience — for at least four of the six years before applying, or an ME degree/PE route.

Our research confirmed that requirement for the unlimited category; it did not capture the experience rule for the residential plumbing and hydronic heating category, so read 12 AAC 39 or ask CBPL before you plan around it.

Note what the administrator license is not: it does not authorize the holder to perform code work, and it is separate from a trade COF — Mechanical Inspection's FAQ notes a person may hold both.

Plan hiring around the one-qualifier rule: an administrator may not back more than one registered contractor or business entity unless the community where they operate is the principal place of business of fewer than three mechanical administrators.

“A person may not qualify or operate as a mechanical administrator for more than one registered contractor, corporation, joint venture, or other business entity”

Which exams must be passed: trade, and business and law?

📜 12 AAC 39; AS 08.40.270

The exam attached to the qualifier's credential is the Mechanical Administrator examination.

The rule requires a score of at least 70% on a department-approved exam taken within 12 months before applying, and it may not be taken more than three times in 12 months.

The statute sets what it tests: plan reading, knowledge of mechanical installations and piping, and familiarity with the Uniform Plumbing Code and Uniform Mechanical Code.

Two gaps to confirm with CBPL: our research could not verify the exam vendor — the CBPL Mechanical Administrators page was not accessible to automated reading — and we found no separate business-and-law exam named for mechanical contractor registration in the sources we read.

Your crew's exams are separate: Mechanical Inspection's Plumber Journeyman test is open book on the 2018 Uniform Plumbing Code — the code edition Alaska adopts under 8 AAC 63.101 — with a 70% pass score and a 30-day wait after a failed attempt.

What bond and insurance does Alaska require?

📜 AS 08.18.071–08.18.101

Two instruments sit on the face of the statute, and neither is plumbing-specific: they attach to the contractor registration itself.

The contractor surety bond for a mechanical contractor is $10,000 — the general contractor bond is $25,000, dropping to $5,000 for contractors limited to projects of $10,000 or less.

And an Alaska contractor must carry general liability insurance of at least $20,000 for damage to property, $50,000 for injury, including death, to any one person, and $100,000 for injury, including death, to more than one person, plus workers' compensation where required.

“$20,000 for damage to property, $50,000 for injury, including death, to any one person, and $100,000 for injury, including death, to more than one person”

What does it cost, and how often is it renewed?

📜 12 AAC 39

The fee and the renewal cycle for the contractor registration are this page's biggest gap: our research could not verify them, and it could not verify Mechanical Administrator fees either — that CBPL page was not accessible to automated reading.

Price both with CBPL before you budget.

What the rules do establish: a Mechanical Administrator renews by satisfactorily completing at least one 8-hour continuing education workshop (or equivalent) each licensing period — on the Uniform Plumbing Code for the plumbing categories — and Alaska contractor registrations and professional licenses are looked up and renewed through the state's MY LICENSE portal at professionallicense.alaska.gov; our research did not verify a separate public license-search page, so confirm with CBPL before relying on a search result.

Your crew's certificates carry their own fees: a Plumber Journeyman COF is a $50 non-refundable application fee plus a $200 certificate fee, and renewal costs $200 with 16 hours of CE in the preceding 24 months, at least 8 on UPC changes.

“A mechanical administrator must satisfactorily complete at least one eight-hour continuing education workshop”

Does Alaska have reciprocity with other states?

📜 Alaska DOL Mechanical Inspection: license requirements

For the business credential, not established in our research: we cannot say whether Alaska counts another state's contractor registration or Mechanical Administrator license toward its requirements, so put the question to CBPL before you plan an application.

What the research does confirm sits at the worker level: Mechanical Inspection offers a Reciprocal Plumber Journeyman COF for the holder of an out-of-state license that has been active for one full year, where the origin state's requirements are substantially similar to Alaska's, as determined by Mechanical Inspection, for a $50 application fee plus the $200 certificate fee.

Mind the hours rule behind the journeyman COF: out-of-state hours do not count automatically — they must have been worked legally in the state where they were worked — and hours worked in Alaska count toward the 8,000 only while holding an Alaska Trainee COF.

Credits can apply: up to 4,000 military/vocational hours, 1,000 classroom hours, 500 utility and 2,000 gas hours may count, and no maintenance hours count.

Confirm any out-of-state hours with Mechanical Inspection before you rely on them.

“Origin state’s requirements must be substantially similar to Alaska, as determined by Mechanical Inspection.”

What happens if your qualifier leaves?

📜 AS 08.40.280

The requirement stays with the business: a mechanical contractor must hold, or have assigned, a Mechanical Administrator license covering its discipline, so a departure leaves the business working without its qualifier.

What happens next is a research gap: we did not find a replacement deadline in Alaska's rules, and our reading of AS 08.40 did not reach the provision governing a departing administrator, so we cannot say whether a deadline, a notification step or a grace period exists — ask CBPL what it expects before your current qualifier gives notice.

The one-qualifier rule narrows the market too: outside the small-community exception, an administrator already qualifying one contractor cannot qualify yours, so your replacement has to be someone not currently backing another business.

Do dollar thresholds change what a small plumbing business needs?

📜 Alaska CBPL: Construction Contractors

Two figures mark the small end.

Alaska's 'handyman' contractor registration is limited to projects with an aggregate contract — labor, materials and all other items — of $10,000 or less for each project, and our research does not state whether that registration covers plumbing code work, so treat it as a question for CBPL rather than a plumbing shortcut.

On the bond side, the $5,000 tier applies to contractors limited to projects of $10,000 or less, against the $10,000 mechanical contractor bond.

Separately from any threshold: doing plumbing work requires a certificate of fitness from Mechanical Inspection, and the structure the state confirms for contracting is the mechanical contractor registration plus a covering Mechanical Administrator license.

What This Page Does, and Doesn’t, Cover

This page summarizes the Alaska board pages, statutes, rules and other sources listed below, as read for this state-by-state plumbing contractor licensing series, current as of September 2026.

It is not a substitute for the instructions the Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing (CBPL) publishes.

For the rest of the picture in Alaska, see HVAC contractor licensing in Alaska and plumbing licensing in Alaska.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do my plumbers need their own Alaska license?

Yes.

The Department of Labor & Workforce Development's Mechanical Inspection section requires a state certificate of fitness (COF) to do plumbing work: the classes are Plumber Journeyman, Plumber Gas (PG), Plumber Restricted Utility (PU) and trainee certificates.

A Plumber Journeyman COF takes 8,000 hours of legally obtained plumbing installation work while holding an Alaska Trainee COF — credits can apply, up to 4,000 military/vocational hours, 1,000 classroom hours, 500 utility and 2,000 gas hours, and no maintenance hours count — and a job site may have no more than two plumber trainees for every certified plumber journeyman.

How much does an Alaska plumbing contractor registration cost?

We cannot state a fee: our research could not verify the contractor registration fee and its renewal cycle, and Mechanical Administrator fees were not verifiable either — the CBPL page was not accessible to automated reading.

The costs we can state sit in statute and on the worker side: the $10,000 surety bond for a mechanical contractor, general liability minimums of $20,000/$50,000/$100,000 plus workers' compensation where required, and a Plumber Journeyman COF at $50 application plus $200 certificate, renewing for $200.

Confirm current fees with CBPL.

Can one Mechanical Administrator qualify two plumbing companies in Alaska?

Generally no. An Alaska Mechanical Administrator may not qualify more than one registered contractor, corporation, joint venture or other business entity.

The exception is narrow: it applies where the community where they operate is the principal place of business of fewer than three mechanical administrators.

For a plumbing company that means your qualifier cannot back another shop at the same time, and a qualifier you recruit from a competitor must give that role up first — confirm the transition mechanics with CBPL.

Is there a master plumber license in Alaska?

No state master plumber license exists in Alaska.

The state's Mechanical Inspection FAQ describes the combination that works like one: there is no restriction on holding a Mechanical Administrator license and a trade certificate of fitness at the same time, and together they allow the holder to function like a master trades license works in many other states.

The administrator license and the trade COF stay two separate credentials; a person may hold both.

Is a handyman registration enough for small plumbing jobs in Alaska?

The handyman contractor registration is limited to projects with an aggregate contract — labor, materials and all other items — of $10,000 or less for each project, and our research does not state whether it covers plumbing code work.

What is clear: doing plumbing work itself requires a certificate of fitness from Mechanical Inspection, and the contractor structure the state confirms is the mechanical contractor registration plus a covering Mechanical Administrator license.

Put small-job plans to CBPL first.

Hiring plumbing techs in Alaska?
Post your opening on HVACHires and reach plumbing techs where they look for work.

More Alaska Resources

Sources

Sourced from the documents listed above.

Verified September 2026.

This is career information, not legal advice.

Confirm current rules with the Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing (CBPL).