Florida registers its apprenticeship programs through the Florida Department of Education — it is a State Apprenticeship Agency state — and it licenses no HVAC technician or journeyman statewide: journeyman cards come from counties and cities.
The programs our research verified are union ones: UA Local 123's five-year, no-cost apprenticeship and the Jacksonville Plumbers & Pipefitters JATT (UA Local 234).
Completing a registered state-approved apprenticeship is one of the two experience paths Florida law accepts toward a local HVAC journeyman card.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
The Florida Department of Education.
Florida is a State Apprenticeship Agency state, and Chapter 446, Florida Statutes, puts apprenticeship under the department.
No state HVAC technician or journeyman license to hold, and no CILB apprentice registration in the statute text we read — an absence, not a stated rule, so confirm with the CILB.
The registration on the state side is the program's: the program is what registers with the Florida Department of Education.
Verified: UA Local 123 (Plumbers, Pipefitters & HVAC-R Techs) — five years, no cost, year-round applications — and the Jacksonville Plumbers & Pipefitters JATT (UA Local 234), online applications.
Locals 719 and 803 post programs whose Florida service areas we could not confirm.
Not established in our research for Florida — PHCC, ABC and ACCA chapter programs were not verified, so ask the chapter.
Florida law lets counties and cities issue an HVAC journeyman license to someone who has completed a registered state-approved apprenticeship — or 12,000 hours of on-the-job training — and scored at least 75% on a proctored journeyman exam; a card one Florida locality issues must be recognized by the others.
Check what your county or city issues and requires.
Apply to the program sponsor itself — the UA locals and association chapters described above — and confirm the program's registration with the Florida Department of Education.
Florida is a State Apprenticeship Agency state: its registered apprenticeship programs are registered by a state agency recognized by the U.S. Department of Labor, not by the federal Office of Apprenticeship.
The same federal split applies everywhere — programs register either with the Office of Apprenticeship or with a recognized state agency acting for the department — and Florida sits on the state side.
The agency is the Florida Department of Education, which the state's apprenticeship law, Chapter 446, Florida Statutes, puts in charge of apprenticeship.
On the union side, the United Association says its registered apprenticeships cover plumbing, pipefitting, HVACR, welding and fire protection and typically last five years.
The Florida programs our research verified sit there — UA Local 123's five-year, no-cost apprenticeship and the Jacksonville Plumbers & Pipefitters Joint Apprenticeship & Training Trust (UA Local 234).
On the merit-shop side, our research verified no program at a Florida association chapter, so ask the chapter directly and confirm any program's registration with the department.
Florida has no statewide HVAC technician or journeyman license; state law authorizes counties and municipalities to issue journeyman licenses in the plumbing, pipe fitting, mechanical and HVAC trades.
So there is no such state card for an apprentice to hold.
The registration that exists on the state side is the program's: programs register with the Florida Department of Education under Chapter 446.
Air-conditioning contractors statewide are licensed by the Construction Industry Licensing Board (CILB) of the Department of Business and Professional Regulation; the contractor-licensing statute's Part I text we read sets no apprentice registration with it — an absence, not a stated rule, so confirm with the CILB before you rely on it.
Age is set: Florida's apprenticeship law defines an apprentice as a person at least 16 years old, the same floor the federal rule uses.
One federal rule that does reach apprentice work is refrigerant: a person who could reasonably be expected to violate the integrity of a refrigerant circuit while maintaining, servicing, repairing or disposing of appliances containing regulated refrigerants must pass an exam from an EPA-approved technician certification program, and apprentices are exempt only while closely and continually supervised by a certified technician.
““Apprentice” means a person at least 16 years of age”
The United Association says its registered apprenticeships are registered with the U.S. Department of Labor, typically last five years, and cover plumbing, pipefitting, HVACR, welding and fire protection.
The Florida locals our research verified: UA Local 123 — Plumbers, Pipefitters & HVAC-R Techs — recruits apprentices year-round for a five-year apprenticeship provided at no cost, though its site does not name its city, so check the local's service area before you apply.
The Jacksonville Plumbers & Pipefitters Joint Apprenticeship & Training Trust (UA Local 234) takes online applications for its pipe-trades apprenticeship.
Two more locals post programs we could not pin down: UA Local 719 (Plumbing and Pipefitting) describes a training program on its website, and UA Local 803 posts an apprenticeship page, but the pages we saved did not state either local's Florida service area — ask the local what it covers.
Beyond these, our research did not verify an HVAC-specific registered program at a Florida UA local, so ask the local you are considering which trades it is currently registering, and confirm the program's registration.
“We have a 5-year apprenticeship program that is provided at no cost.”
Our research did not verify a registered HVAC apprenticeship run by a Florida chapter of the national associations, so treat this side as places to ask rather than options we have confirmed.
ABC describes itself as founded on the merit shop philosophy and reports more than 24,000 members, though which chapters run HVAC programs is chapter-level detail we did not verify.
PHCC offers apprenticeship content through an online learning academy, and its Educational Foundation is an EPA-approved 608 certifying program.
ACCA reports 60,000 professionals and more than 3,000 company members and is an EPA-approved 608 certifying program, but our research found no ACCA registered apprenticeship — a gap in the research, not a verified negative.
Whatever the sponsor, registration runs through the Florida Department of Education rather than a licensing board.
Ask the Florida chapter of whichever association you approach, and confirm the program's registration with the department.
Registered apprenticeship pairs on-the-job learning with related technical instruction, and programs structure that differently: terms may be time-based, with at least 2,000 hours of on-the-job learning, competency-based, or a hybrid of both.
The Department of Labor recommends a minimum of 144 hours of related technical instruction per year of apprenticeship — a recommendation, not a federal requirement.
Our research did not survey Florida schools and community colleges as HVAC related-instruction providers, and our read of the department's own site was blocked at the access date, so we cannot name providers.
Ask each sponsor where its classroom hours are delivered and how they are scheduled.
Florida sets no state HVAC technician or journeyman license, so there is no state hour table to credit toward one; the credential hours count toward is the county or city journeyman license, and the Florida HVAC license page owns those rules.
You apply to the program sponsor, and the program's registration runs through the Florida Department of Education.
Where the verified programs take applications: the Jacksonville JATT (UA Local 234) takes online applications, and UA Local 123 recruits apprentices year-round.
Expect Florida's age rule and the federal floor: Florida's apprenticeship law defines an apprentice as a person at least 16 years old, registered apprentices must be at least 16 unless a higher minimum age is set by law, there is no federal maximum age, and federal rules bar discrimination against apprentices and applicants aged 40 or older — sponsors may set their own qualifications on top.
An apprenticeable occupation requires at least 2,000 hours of on-the-job learning, the probationary period may not exceed 25% of the program length or 1 year, whichever is shorter, and pay follows a progressively increasing schedule tied to skill, with the entry wage not below the FLSA minimum where it applies.
Completion earns a certificate from the registration agency — it is not a license.
Our guide to how to get a hvac apprenticeship covers the search and the application itself.
This page summarizes the Florida board pages, statutes, rules and other sources listed below, as read for this state-by-state HVAC apprenticeships series, current as of September 2026.
It is not a substitute for the instructions the Florida Department of Education publishes.
For the rest of the picture in Florida, see HVAC licensing in Florida and plumbing apprenticeships in Florida.
From the 17 active HVAC apprentice listings on HVACHires as of October 7, 2026.
Source: active HVAC apprentice listings on HVACHires, updated daily. Pay figures use only listings that state pay (midpoint of each posted range), hourly and yearly counted separately. Benefits count listings that name the benefit; a listing that doesn’t mention one may still offer it.
Browse 17 jobs →Florida issues no statewide HVAC technician or journeyman license, and journeyman cards come from counties and municipalities.
The registration on the state side is the program's: programs register with the Florida Department of Education; the statute text we read sets no apprentice registration with the CILB, but that is an absence, not a stated rule, so confirm with the board.
Refrigerant work does reach apprentices federally: work that could breach a refrigerant circuit requires EPA 608 certification, and an apprentice is exempt only while closely and continually supervised by a certified technician.
Federal rules set the floor: an apprenticeable occupation requires at least 2,000 hours of on-the-job learning, and terms may be time-based, competency-based or a hybrid.
The United Association says its programs typically last five years, and the verified Florida example — UA Local 123's apprenticeship — runs five years at no cost.
Ask each sponsor how it splits job hours and classroom hours, and confirm the length before you sign.
For a county or city journeyman license in the HVAC trade, Florida law accepts a completed registered and state-approved apprenticeship program — the alternative is at least 12,000 hours of on-the-job training — together with a score of at least 75% on a proctored journeyman exam.
Florida counties and municipalities must recognize the journeyman license another Florida locality issued, so a card your county or city issues works in the other localities.
There is no state-level journeyman card — check what your locality issues and requires.
Registered programs must pay a progressively increasing wage schedule tied to skill, and the entry wage may not fall below the FLSA minimum wage where it applies.
Our research has no verified Florida apprentice wage figures, so ask each sponsor for its current schedule and wage steps.
For pay context, see our HVAC apprentice pay guide.
We did not confirm a named HVAC apprenticeship in Orlando or Tampa.
The Florida programs our research verified are UA Local 123's five-year, no-cost apprenticeship — its site does not state its city — and the Jacksonville Plumbers & Pipefitters Joint Apprenticeship & Training Trust (UA Local 234), which takes online applications.
Ask the Florida Department of Education which programs are registered near you, and confirm any program's registration before you apply.
Sources
Sourced from the documents listed above.
Verified September 2026.
This is career information, not legal advice.
Confirm current rules with the Florida Department of Education.