Plumbing apprenticeships in Florida run as registered programs — Florida is a State Apprenticeship Agency state, and the agency that registers the programs is the Florida Department of Education — and the state issues no statewide journeyman plumber license: journeyman cards come from Florida counties and cities.
The programs our research verified are union ones: the Jacksonville Plumbers & Pipefitters JATT (UA Local 234) and UA Local 123's five-year, no-cost apprenticeship.
Completing a registered state-approved apprenticeship is one of the two experience paths Florida law accepts toward a local plumbing journeyman card.
Verify before you rely on this
At a glance
The Florida Department of Education.
Florida is a State Apprenticeship Agency state, and Chapter 446, Florida Statutes, puts apprenticeship under the department.
No state journeyman plumber license to hold — Florida's plumbing journeyman cards come from counties and cities — and no CILB apprentice registration in the statute text we read, an absence rather than a stated rule, so confirm with the CILB.
The registration that does exist on the state side is the program's: programs register with the Florida Department of Education.
Verified: the Jacksonville Plumbers & Pipefitters JATT (UA Local 234), online applications, and UA Local 123 — Plumbers, Pipefitters & HVAC-R Techs — five years, no cost, year-round recruiting.
Locals 719 and 803 post programs whose Florida service areas we could not confirm.
Not established in our research which PHCC or ABC chapters, or which Florida employers, sponsor registered plumbing apprenticeships — ask the chapter and confirm the program's registration with the department.
For a county or city plumbing journeyman card, Florida law accepts a completed registered state-approved apprenticeship — or at least 12,000 hours of on-the-job training — plus a score of at least 75% on a proctored journeyman exam; a card one Florida locality issues is portable to the others.
Apply to the program sponsor itself — the verified paths are the Jacksonville JATT's online application and UA Local 123's year-round recruiting — and confirm the program's registration with the Florida Department of Education.
Florida is a State Apprenticeship Agency state: its registered apprenticeship programs are registered by a state agency recognized by the U.S. Department of Labor, not by the federal Office of Apprenticeship, which registers programs in states without a recognized state agency.
The state agency is the Florida Department of Education, which Chapter 446, Florida Statutes, puts in charge of apprenticeship.
The Florida programs our research verified are union-side: the Jacksonville Plumbers & Pipefitters Joint Apprenticeship & Training Trust (UA Local 234) and UA Local 123's five-year apprenticeship.
On the merit-shop and college side, our research verified no Florida program: PHCC and ABC chapter sponsorship was an open question in the research, and the research did not survey employer programs or community colleges — so ask the sponsor you are considering what it runs, and confirm any program's registration with the department.
Florida has no statewide journeyman plumber license — counties and municipalities issue plumbing journeyman licenses under s.
489.1455, Florida Statutes, and each locality's card is portable across Florida — so there is no state journeyman card for an apprentice to hold.
The registration that exists on the state side is the program's: programs register with the Florida Department of Education under Chapter 446.
The contractor-licensing statute's Part I text we read sets no apprentice registration with the Construction Industry Licensing Board (CILB) — an absence in the text we read, not a stated rule, so confirm with the CILB before you rely on it.
Age is set: Florida's apprenticeship law defines an apprentice as a person at least 16 years old, the same floor the federal rule uses; there is no federal maximum age for registered apprenticeship, and federal rules bar age discrimination against apprentices and applicants 40 or older in registered programs.
““Apprentice” means a person at least 16 years of age”
The United Association says its registered apprenticeships are registered with the U.S. Department of Labor, typically last five years, and cover plumbing, pipefitting, HVACR, welding and fire protection.
Two Florida locals our research verified list apprenticeships on their sites.
The Jacksonville Plumbers & Pipefitters Joint Apprenticeship & Training Trust — UA Local 234, per its own site's name — takes online applications for its pipe-trades apprenticeship.
UA Local 123 — Plumbers, Pipefitters & HVAC-R Techs — recruits apprentices year-round for a five-year apprenticeship provided at no cost; its saved page does not state its city, so check the local's service area before you apply.
Two more locals post programs we could not pin down: UA Local 719 (Plumbing and Pipefitting) describes a training program on its website, and UA Local 803 has an apprenticeship page, but the pages we saved did not state either local's Florida service area — ask the local what area it covers.
Before you commit to any of them, confirm the program's registration with the Florida Department of Education.
“We have a 5-year apprenticeship program that is provided at no cost.”
Our research did not verify a registered plumbing apprenticeship run by a Florida chapter of the national associations or by an individual Florida employer, so treat this side as places to ask rather than options we have confirmed.
Nationally, Associated Builders and Contractors (ABC) describes itself as founded on the merit shop philosophy and reports more than 24,000 members; PHCC — the Plumbing-Heating-Cooling Contractors Association — offers apprenticeship content through an online learning academy.
Which Florida chapters, if any, run registered plumbing apprenticeships is chapter-level detail the research did not confirm.
If a contractor tells you it runs an apprenticeship, ask who registered the program: in Florida, program registration runs through the Florida Department of Education.
Registered apprenticeship pairs on-the-job learning with related technical instruction — the classroom side.
Programs structure it differently: terms may be time-based, with at least 2,000 hours of on-the-job learning, competency-based, or a hybrid of both.
The Department of Labor recommends — but does not require — a minimum of 144 hours of related instruction for each year of apprenticeship.
Which Florida schools, union training centers and community colleges deliver plumbing-related instruction is not something our research catalogued, and the department's own site was blocked at our access date, so we cannot name providers; ask each sponsor where its classroom hours are delivered and how they are scheduled.
What the hours feed is the county or city journeyman card: completing a registered state-approved apprenticeship is one of the two experience paths Florida law accepts toward one, and the Florida plumbing license page owns those rules.
You apply to the program sponsor itself.
Where the verified programs take applications: the Jacksonville Plumbers & Pipefitters JATT (UA Local 234) takes online applications, and UA Local 123 recruits apprentices year-round.
Expect Florida's age rule: the state's apprenticeship law defines an apprentice as a person at least 16 years old, registered apprentices must be at least 16 unless a higher minimum age is fixed by law, there is no federal maximum age for registered apprenticeship, and federal rules bar age discrimination against applicants 40 or older in registered programs — ask each sponsor what its own entry requirements add on top.
In a registered program, pay follows a progressively increasing schedule tied to the skill you gain, and completing the program earns a certificate from the registration agency — it is not a plumbing license.
Before you commit, confirm the program's registration with the Florida Department of Education.
This page summarizes the Florida board pages, statutes, rules and other sources listed below, as read for this state-by-state plumbing apprenticeships series, current as of September 2026.
It is not a substitute for the instructions the Florida Department of Education publishes.
For the rest of the picture in Florida, see plumbing licensing in Florida and HVAC apprenticeships in Florida.
From the 15 active plumbing apprentice listings on HVACHires as of October 7, 2026.
Source: active plumbing apprentice listings on HVACHires, updated daily. Pay figures use only listings that state pay (midpoint of each posted range), hourly and yearly counted separately. Benefits count listings that name the benefit; a listing that doesn’t mention one may still offer it.
Browse 15 jobs →No state license: Florida issues no statewide journeyman plumber license — counties and municipalities issue plumbing journeyman licenses under s.
489.1455, Florida Statutes, and each locality's card is portable across Florida.
The registration on the state side is the program's: programs register with the Florida Department of Education.
The contractor-licensing statute text we read sets no apprentice registration with the CILB, but that is an absence, not a stated rule, so confirm with the board.
Florida law defines an apprentice as a person at least 16 years old.
The verified Florida program with a stated length is UA Local 123's: it recruits apprentices year-round for a five-year apprenticeship provided at no cost.
Nationally, the United Association says its registered apprenticeships typically last five years.
Terms may be time-based — at least 2,000 hours of on-the-job learning — competency-based, or a hybrid.
Ask each program how it splits job and classroom hours, and for its written standards, before you sign.
For a county or city plumbing journeyman card, yes: Florida law accepts a completed registered and state-approved apprenticeship — the alternative is at least 12,000 hours of on-the-job training — together with a score of at least 75% on a proctored journeyman exam.
The card one county or city issues is portable between Florida localities.
There is no statewide journeyman card, so check what your county or city issues and requires.
Registered programs must pay a progressively increasing schedule of wages tied to the skill the apprentice gains, and the federal rule sets no percentage steps — each program's standards set the pay.
Our research has no verified Florida apprentice wage figures, so ask each sponsor for its current schedule and wage steps before you sign.
We did not confirm a named plumbing apprenticeship in Tampa, Orlando or Miami.
The Florida programs our research verified are the Jacksonville Plumbers & Pipefitters Joint Apprenticeship & Training Trust (UA Local 234), which takes online applications, and UA Local 123's five-year, no-cost apprenticeship — its saved page does not state its city.
Ask the Florida Department of Education which programs are registered near you.
Sources
Sourced from the documents listed above.
Verified September 2026.
This is career information, not legal advice.
Confirm current rules with the Florida Department of Education.